GO
Loading...

CNBC Meets

CNBC Meets: Sung-Joo Kim, part one

CNBC Meet's Tania Bryer meets business leader and philanthropist, Sung-Joo Kim who discusses how she manages more than 360 MCM stores worldwide and how she escaped the constraints of a strict patriarchal household and society.

Born in South Korea, Kim, the founder and chief executive of Asian fashion business Sungjoo Group and chief executive of luxury European accessories brand MCM managed to convince her father to let her study at Amherst College in the U.S.

Kim was not even allowed to have a passport to travel, but after inviting ex-prime ministers, scholars and cabinet members that were well-known Amherst graduates for dinner, her father was convinced.

Kim describes her "cultural confusion" at arriving at Amherst, having grown up in a very privileged, but very strict home where girls were treated as "second class citizens" as well as her unlikely friendship with Monaco's Prince Albert II.

CNBC Meets

Contact CNBC Meets

  • Showtimes

    EMEA (CET)

    Wednesday 25 March 23:00

    Saturday 28 March 23:30

    Sunday 29 March 18:30

    Wednesday April 22 23:00

    Saturday April 25 23:30

    Sunday April 26 18:30

    Wednesday May 20 23:00

    Saturday May 23 23:30

    Sunday May 24 18:30


    CNBC World (EST)

    Saturday March 28 22:00

    Sunday March 29 16:30

    Saturday April 25 22:00

    Sunday April 26 16:30

    Saturday May 23 22:00

    Sunday May 24 16:30


    Asia (SIN/HK)

    Saturday March 28 17:30

    Sunday March 29 19:30

    Saturday April 25 17:30

    Sunday April 26 19:30

    Saturday May 23 17:30

    Sunday May 24 19:30


  • Tania Bryer is a guest presenter and executive producer of CNBC Meets. In this series, she profiles some of the world’s most successful business people to find out what makes them tick. Bryer previously worked for BBC and Sky Television.