Press & Links

Shortlist Announced For the EBLA 2007

CNBC Europe

CNBC Europe has announced the shortlist of nominations for the European Business Leaders Awards (EBLA) for 2007.  The Awards programme, now in its fourth year, was created to identify and honour those individuals who are making a difference through leadership and innovation in their industry sectors.

The shortlist of nominations for the European Business Leaders Awards 2007 are:

European Business Leader of the Year (sponsored by BT)
Wulf Bernotat - Chairman, E.ON AG
Lakshmi Mittal - President and Chief Executive Officer, Arcelor Mittal
Alessandro Profumo - Managing Director and CEO, UniCredit Group
Wolfgang Reitzle - Chairman of the Executive Board, Linde AG
Peter Wüffli - President and CEO, UBS AG

European Business Leader of the Year (Global/Local)
Tadashi Arashima - President and Chief Executive Officer, Toyota Motor Europe
Jean-Philippe Courtois - President, Microsoft International
Miles Flint - President, Member of the Board, Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications
Nikesh Arora - Vice President of European Operations, Google

European Business Leader of the Future
Matteo Arpe - Managing Director, Capitalia Gruppo Bancario
José Luis Duran - Chairman of the Management Board, Groupe Carrefour
Annika Falkengren - President and CEO, SEB Group
Andy Hornby - Group Chief Executive, HBOS plc

Innovator of the Year
Michael & Xochi Birch - Founders, Bebo Inc.
Guerrino De Luca - President and CEO, Logitech International
Olli-Pekka Kallasvuo - President and CEO, Nokia Corporation
Maurice Pratt - Chief Executive Officer, C&C Group plc

Outstanding Leadership in Business Practices
Richard Branson - Chairman, The Virgin Group plc
Michael Diekmann - Chairman of the Management Board, Allianz SE
Jean-Pierre Garnier - Chief Executive Officer, GlaxoSmithKline
Daniel Vasella - Chairman & CEO, Novartis AG

Entrepreneur of the Year

Stanley Fink - Chief Executive, Man Group plc

Jamie Oliver - Chef and Social Entrepreneur, Sweet As Candy Holdings

Michael Spencer - CEO, ICAP plc

Kate Swann - Group Chief Executive, WH Smith plc

The shortlist of nominations was selected by a panel of CEOs from the Dow Jones Stoxx 600, who voted for two executives who they believed were leaders making a significant impact in expanding global business in Europe.

The winners for each category will now be chosen by a panel of judges. These include EBLA 2006 winners Dr. Klaus Kleinfeld (Business Leader of the Future), Niklas Zennström (Entrepreneur of the Year) and Professor Seán Meehan, Professor of Marketing and Change Management, IMD Lausanne and Frederick Kempe, President and CEO, The Atlantic Council and former editor of The Wall Street Journal Europe. The panel is chaired by Barbara Stelzner.

Mick Buckley, President and CEO, CNBC Europe said, “This year’s shortlist has highlighted an exceptional group of European leaders.  What makes this shortlist interesting is that they have been nominated by their peers and colleagues as making a real difference through leadership and innovation.  I look forward to announcing each of category winners, chosen by our distinguished panel of judges, in March.”

The EBLA winners will be announced at a special gala event to be held in London on 22 March 2007 at Claridge’s Hotel.  CNBC Europe will broadcast exclusive coverage of the event including interviews with the finalists on 23 March at 20.00 CET.

The Awards programme is presented by CNBC Europe and is sponsored by BT. Media partners are CNBC European Business, FOCUS and TIME Magazine.  The business information partner is Factiva.

For more information, please contact:

CNBC Europe
Hugo Foulds
+44 20 7653 9398

About CNBC Europe

CNBC Europe is the only pan-European real-time financial and business channel dedicated to European CEOs and senior corporate executives, the European financial services industry and the European investor. Today the channel is available in over 100 million homes, 1,400 banks and financial institutions and thousands of four and five star hotel rooms throughout Europe, the Middle East and Africa. CNBC Europe is wholly owned subsidiary of NBC Universal. NBC Universal is the broadcasting unit of the General Electric Company (GE).