Press & Links

Shortlist Announced For CNBC’s European Business Leaders Awards 2009

CNBC has announced the shortlist of nominations for the CNBC European Business Leaders Awards (EBLA) 2009.

The Awards programme, which is presented by CNBC and conducted in partnership with the Financial Times, is now in its sixth year and was created to identify and honour those CEOs who are making a difference through leadership and innovation in their industry sectors.  The EBLA 2009 winners will be announced at a special Awards ceremony in London on 26th March 2009.

The shortlist of nominations for the CNBC European Business Leaders Awards 2009 are:

European Business Leader of the Year (sponsored by BT)
Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera, Inditex Group
Bart Becht, Reckitt Benckiser
Olli-Pekka Kallasvuo, Nokia Corporation

European Business Leader of the Future
Tristan Lecomte, Alter Eco
Alastair Lukies, Monitise Group
James Murdoch, News Corporation

European Business Leader of the Year (Global/Local)
Jean-Philippe Courtois, Microsoft International
Denis Hennequin, McDonald’s Europe
Philipp Justus, eBay

Innovator of the Year (sponsored by HCL Axon)
David Courtier-Dutton, Slicethepie
James Dyson, Dyson
Sir Terry Leahy, Tesco

Outstanding Leadership in Sustainable Practices
Patrick Cescau, Unilever Group
Lars G. Josefsson, Vattenfall
Thomas Leysen, Umicore

Entrepreneur of the Year
Michael & Xochi Birch, Bebo, Inc.
Christina Domecq, Spinvox
Amancio Ortega, Inditex Group

Philanthropist of the Year
Paul Barry-Walsh, Fredericks Foundation
Richard Branson, Virgin Group
Arpad Busson, EIM Group

The nominations for the Awards were selected by a panel of CEOs from European companies within the FT Global 500, who voted for two of their peer chief executives, in each category, who they believe are leaders making a significant impact in expanding global business in Europe.

The shortlist of nominations for each category were then chosen by a panel of judges, that consisted of EBLA 2008 winners, Aditya Mittal, CFO, ArcelorMittal (winner of the 2008 European Business Leader of the Future Award);Dr Mike Lynch, CEO, Autonomy (winner of the 2008 Innovator of the Year Award); Sergio Marchionne, CEO, Fiat (winner of the 2008 European Business Leader of the Year Award); Nani Becalli-Falco, President & CEO, GE International (winner of the 2008 European Business Leader of the Year - Global/Local Award); Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, Chairman, L’Oreal (winner of the 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award); Natalie Massenet, Founder & Chairman, Net-a-Porter (winner of the 2008 Entrepreneur of the Year Award).

Professor Seán Meehan, Professor of Marketing and Change Management at IMD, Lionel Barber, Editor of the Financial Times and Barbara Stelzner, Vice President of News and Programming, EMEA at CNBC also sat on judges panel, with Sir William Castell, Chairman of the Wellcome Trust, who is its chair.  Dossiers on each of the finalists were produced by IMD.

Mick Buckley, President and CEO EMEA, CNBC said, “The nominations process for the EBLA differentiates it from other award schemes.  In asking CEOs from diverse industries to identify their peers who they believe are Europe’s top business leaders, the nominations have highlighted an exceptional group of European leaders.  I look forward to welcoming CEOs from across Europe to London and congratulating each of the category winners.”

Winners of the CNBC EBLA 2009 will be announced and celebrated at a gala Awards ceremony on 26th March 2009.  Media partners for EBLA 2009 are CNBC European Business, FOCUS and TIME Magazine.