Press & Links

Shortlist announced for the CNBC European Business Leaders Awards 2010


The shortlist of CEOs nominated for the CNBC European Business Leaders Awards 2010 (EBLA) were announced today as:

European Business Leader of the Year

Peter Loescher, Siemens

Graham Mackay, SABMiller

Entrepreneur of the Year

Ross Brawn, Brawn GP

Alastair Lukies, Monitise Group

European Business Leader of the Year (Global/Local)

Ryoichi Bamba, Canon Europe

Larry Hirst, IBM Europe

Dominique Reiniche, Coca-Cola Europe

Philanthropist of the Year

Percy Barnevik, Hand in Hand International

Zarine Kharas & Anne-Marie Huby,

Franck Riboud, Danone

European Business Leader of the Future

Angela Ahrendts, Burberry

Luca de Meo, Volkswagen

Jean-Pascal Tricoire, Schneider Electric

Innovator of the Year

David Courtier-Dutton, Slicethepie

Diaa Elyaacoubi, Streamcore

Mario Moretti Polegato, Geox

Outstanding Leadership in Sustainable Practices

Peter Bakker, TNT

Gerard Kleisterlee, Philips

Henri Proglio, Veolia Environnement

The shortlist of nominations for each category were chosen by a panel of judges that consisted of EBLA 2009 winners includingJames Murdoch (News Corporation); Bart Becht (Reckitt Benckiser); Denis Hennequin (McDonald’s Europe); Peter Brabeck-Letmanthe (Nestlé); Sergio Marchionne (Fiat Group); Paul Barry-Walsh (Fredricks Foundation).  Other judges were Professor Seán Meehan (IMD); Lionel Barber (Financial Times); Barbara Stelzner (CNBC) and the panel’s chair, Sir William Castell, Chairman of the Wellcome Trust.

The winners will be announced at a special Awards ceremony in London on 24th March.

Mick Buckley, President and CEO EMEA, CNBC said, “This year’s shortlist has highlighted an exceptional group of European leaders.  In a year where leadership has played an even more pivotal role in business, I look forward to welcoming CEOs from across Europe and to celebrating the winners in each category.”

The CNBC EBLA are a chief executive peer-to-peer Awards based on nominations made by European CEOs from within the FT Global 500.  CEOs voted for two of their peer chief executives, in each category, who they believe are leaders making a significant impact in expanding global business in Europe.

The Awards, which are organised by CNBC and conducted in partnership with the Financial Times, were created to identify and honour those CEOs who are making a difference through leadership and innovation in their industry sectors.  The EBLA were started in 2003; more details on the Awards and categories can be found at  Media partners for EBLA 2010 are CNBC Business and TIME Magazine.