Press Releases

The 43rd March to Gridiron Greatness Continues

Top 25 Finalists for 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award Announced Today

HOUSTON--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- The Rotary Club of Houston announced today the top 25 finalists for the 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award. The award show will be held December 5, 2012, at the Hobby Center in Houston, Texas and is part of a two-day schedule of events. The announcement was broadcast live by Yahoo Sports Radio on the Rivals Show hosted by David Nuno. The broadcast was attended by Houston area Rotarians and friends of Rotary at the House of Blues in downtown Houston on October 6, 2012.

Fifteen defensive players and ten offensive players were named to the Top 25 list. The Southeastern Conference leads the pack with nine players. The other conferences represented are the Big 12 with four players, the Big 10 with four players, the Atlantic Coast with three players, the Pac 12 with three players, the Western Atlantic with one player, and one Independent.

The top 25 finalists are:

Bjoern Werner     Florida State    
Cornellius Carradine Florida State
Jonathan Cooper North Carolina
William Gholston Big 10
Johnathan Hankins Ohio State Big 10
Kawann Short Purdue Big 10
Chris Borland Wisconsin Big 10
Arthur Brown Kansas State Big 12
Alex Okafor Texas Big 12
Jackson Jeffcoat Texas Big 12
Joe Madsen West Virginia Big 12
Manit Te'o Notre Dame
Will Sutton Arizona State Pac 12
Khaled Holmes USC Pac 12
Barrett Jones Alabama SEC
Chance Warmack Alabama SEC
DJ Fluker Alabama SEC
Corey Lemonier Auburn SEC
Jarvis Jones Georgia SEC
Barkevious Mingo LSU SEC
Sam Montgomery LSU SEC
Jadeveon Clowney South Carolina SEC
Damontre Moore Texas A&M SEC
Travis Johnson San Jose State Western Atlantic

Atlantic Coast

Atlantic Coast

Atlantic Coast

Michigan State


Star Lotulelei


Pac 12

Going forward, the Rotary Lombardi Award committee will announce their “seven blocks of granite” semi-finalists on October 27th followed by the announcement of the four finalists on November 17th.

Established in 1970, the Rotary Lombardi Award has raised millions of dollars to help support cancer research, public education and direct services to cancer patients. The tradition of service above self – the Rotary motto - continues this year.

For more information on the two-day schedule of events and ticket opportunities, please visit and follow the March to Gridiron Greatness on Twitter at @RotaryLombardiAward and on Facebook at

National College Football Awards Association:

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Rotary Lombardi Award
Rick Slemaker, Programs Chairperson
Steve Vetrano, Administration and Finance Chairperson
Yvette Scheiber, Public Relations Chairperson, 713-973-9936

Source: Rotary Club of Houston