Press Releases

H.E.A.T. Honors Contributions To Auto Crime Prevention

LIVONIA, Mich., Oct. 10, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Today, H.E.A.T. (Help Eliminate Auto Thefts) hosted their annual Anniversary Breakfast to celebrate and honor those who have contributed to the fight against auto theft-related crimes over the last 27 years. United States Attorney Barbara McQuade keynoted the event at the GM Heritage Center in Sterling Heights before an audience of law enforcement personnel, government officials and representatives from the insurance industry.

"The H.E.A.T. program wouldn't be what it is today without the dedication and service  of our remarkably talented partners," said Terri Miller, director of H.E.A.T. "Today we celebrate their commitment to keeping our neighborhoods and communities safe  by helping to reduce auto theft crimes and insurance fraud. From all of us at H.E.A.T., we thank you!"

U.S. Attorney McQuade also thanked the attendees for their efforts to combat auto theft-related crimes in Michigan. In addition, she emphasized how programs like H.E.A.T. are successful through teamwork, which a can result in extraordinary accomplishments.

Several awards were presented at the event, including the prestigious William V. Liddane Award and the H.E.A.T. Investigator of the Year Award. The Liddane Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the fight against auto theft in Michigan. The H.E.A.T. Investigator of the Year Award honors law enforcement and others for their tenacity and hard work in auto theft investigation, arrest, recovery and prevention. This year's award recipients included:


  • Special Agent Larry LaFond – National Insurance Crime Bureau


  • Detroit Police Department – Conspiracy and Metro Insurance Fraud Squads
    • Sgt. Vernal Newson
    • Sgt. Jonathan Parnell
    • Sgt. Robert Wellman
    • FBI SA Allen Southard
    • Ofc. John Quincy
    • Ofc. Mark Burke
    • Ofc. Lewis Jackson
    • Ofc. Dana Russell
    • Ofc. Clive Stewart
    • Ofc. Joseph Fortier
    • Ofc. Anthony Fletcher
    • Ofc. Shawn Schemelter
    • Ofc. Christopher Station
    • Ofc. Rohit Joshi
    • Ofc. Ken Leonard
    • Ofc. Rico Hardy
    • Ofc. Alfredo Jimenez
    • Ofc. John Berryman
    • Ofc. John Metiva
    • Ofc. Derek Owens
    • Ofc. Steven Turner
    • ID Tech Keith Dawson
    • ID Tech Sean Neal


  • MATS – Macomb Auto Theft Squad
    • Lt. Mark Oermann
    • Sgt. Don Lusk
    • Sgt. Dan Willis
    • Det. Ben Leitch
    • Det. Lee Delor
    • Det. Ryan Wohlfield
    • Det. Brad Robinson
    • Det. Gerald Hanna
    • Det. Sean Johnston
    • Kim Davies

For more information about the Anniversary Breakfast, please visit If you have any information on auto theft-related activities, report it to H.E.A.T.'s 24/7 toll-free tip line at 1-800-242-HEAT or to the H.E.A.T. website. You may be eligible for rewards up to $10,000 for your information.

About H.E.A.T.
H.E.A.T. works with Michigan law enforcement agencies to follow-up on tips. Tipsters are awarded up to $1,000 if the tip leads to the arrest and warrant of a suspected car thief or a person suspected of auto theft-related insurance fraud. H.E.A.T. rewards up to $2,000 for information leading to the issuance of a warrant for a carjacking suspect. Rewards of up to $10,000 are issued if a tip results in the arrest and binding over for trial of a suspected theft ring or chop shop operators. The H.E.A.T. tip line is monitored by the Michigan State Police and funded by Michigan's auto insurance companies.

Follow H.E.A.T. on Facebook and @1800242HEAT on Twitter.

SOURCE H.E.A.T. (Help Eliminate Auto Thefts)