×

Grupo Elektra Announces Withdrawal and Liquidation of Its Operations in Argentina

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 1, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Elektra, S.A.B. de C.V. (BMV:ELEKTRA) (Latibex:XEKT), Latin America's leading financial services company and specialty retailer and the largest non-bank provider of cash advance services in the United States, announced today the withdrawal and liquidation of its operations in Argentina.

The company indicated that the decision is the result of a difficult macroeconomic and business environment that diminishes viability of the operation in that country. The foreign currency controls and import and export restrictions limit access to commercial goods, while controls on capital flows restrict investment. High inflation hinders business planning, while labor regulation allows union practices that affect the investment environment. Similarly, there is a culture of non-payment of debts that makes credit business impractical.

Grupo Elektra's operations in Argentina are not material in relation to the size of the company; the company does not have in the country banking operations, which have enabled successful operations in other regions in which Grupo Elektra operates. The company intends to focus on markets with higher profitability prospects, in benefit of all its investors.

Company Profile:

Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx) is Latin America's leading financial services company and specialty retailer and the largest non-bank provider of cash advance services in the United States. The Group operates over 6,000 points of sale in Mexico, USA, Brazil, Guatemala, Honduras, Peru, Panama, El Salvador and Argentina. Grupo Elektra is a Grupo Salinas company (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, contributing to build the middle class of the countries in which they operate and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. The companies include Azteca (www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. However, the member companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance. Except for historical information, the matters discussed in this press release are forward-looking statements and are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Other risks that may affect Grupo Elektra and its subsidiaries are identified in documents sent to securities authorities.

CONTACT: Investor Relations Bruno Rangel Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 jrangelk@gruposalinas.com.mx Rolando Villarreal Grupo Elektra S.A.B. de C.V. Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 rvillarreal@gruposalinas.com.mx Press Relations Jaime Ramos Grupo Salinas + 52 (55) 1720 1416 jramosr@tvazteca.com.mx Daniel McCosh Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mxSource:Grupo Elektra SAB de CV