Photo Release -- Fundacion Azteca Signs Accord to Create Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra of Tepito in Mexico City

Grupo Salinas logo
Fundacion Azteca
Esperanza Azteca
Tepito
Grupo Salinas logo

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 9, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas is pleased to announce the signing of an agreement between Fundacion Azteca and the Mexico City Government to create the Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra of Tepito.







Esperanza Azteca adds its 56th youth orchestra in Mexico City's "Tepito" neighborhood. The program now includes 14,000 kids from 29 states in Mexico and El Salvador.


A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=21460

This accord was signed by Miguel Angel Mancera, Mayor of Mexico City, and Esteban Moctezuma, Executive President of Fundacion Azteca. Going forward, Mexico City's Social Development Secretary and the System for Integrated Family Development will collaborate with Fundacion Azteca to provide opportunities for 200 children to be part of the Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra.

Tepito is one of the oldest and most traditional neighborhoods of Mexico City. For much of its history has been a place of intense commercial activity, the cradle of sports figures and also an emblematic hub of urban culture. However, it has high levels of marginality that threaten youth with social problems such as crime, alcoholism and drug addiction.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Esperanza Azteca

Esperanza Azteca is a network of youth orchestras and choirs that provide young people from low-income families a better quality of life. We seek to form better human beings through music. The project is a joint effort among local communities, local, state and federal governments and the Mexican Chamber of Deputies, spearheaded by Fundacion Azteca. The program currently features 56 orchestras in Mexico and El Salvador, encouraging values such as discipline, excellence and teamwork in over 14,000 talented youth. For more information, visit www.fundacionazteca.org

CONTACT: Press Contact: Daniel McCosh (5255) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas; Fundacion Azteca