ANS Awards Seaborg Medal, Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award

LA GRANGE PARK, Ill., Oct. 21, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The American Nuclear Society (ANS) recognizes Professor J. Kenneth Shultis with the 2013 Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award, and the late Harold Agnew with the 2013 Seaborg Medal.

Professor Shultis, currently at Kansas State University, has made many contributions to nuclear science over the last 50 years which include important understandings of radiation shielding and methodology. He has published several academic books on Radiation shielding as well as fundamentals of nuclear science. He received his Ph.D. in Nuclear Science and Engineering from the University of Michigan.

Agnew's storied career includes many milestones in nuclear science becoming the Director of the Los Alamos National Laboratory in 1970. Previously he had served as the Scientific Adviser to the NATO Supreme Allied Commander Europe as well as a stint in politics as a State Senator in New Mexico.

The honors will be given out at the 2013 ANS Winter Meeting in Washington, D.C. from November 10-14.

Established in 1983, the Seaborg Medal recognizes an individual who has made outstanding scientific or engineering research contributions to the development of peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

The Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award is based on long-term or lifetime achievement in research, technology development, or education in the fields of radiation protection, shielding or dosimetry. Most recipients have been long-time active members of ANS. Moreover, most recipients are authors of publications that have made significant contributions to the art of radiation protection and shielding.

Currently with more than 35 prestigious awards, the American Nuclear Society has a vigorous program to honor outstanding achievement and meritorious service in the various fields served by our Society. Through its honors and awards program, ANS is proud to recognize the exceptional accomplishments of nuclear science and technology professionals. Awards range from elevation of a member to Fellow grade for outstanding accomplishment to named awards honoring highly respected individuals in their field.

Established in 1954, ANS is a professional organization of engineers and scientists devoted to the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Its more than 11,000 members come from diverse technical backgrounds covering the full range of engineering disciplines as well as the physical and biological sciences within the nuclear field. They are advancing the application of nuclear technologies to improve the lives of the world community through national and international enterprise within government, academia, research laboratories and private industry.

CONTACT: Erik Rancatore Office: 708-579-8224 Cell: 630-710-8216 Email: erancatore@ans.orgSource:American Nuclear Society