Ricardo Salinas Calls for Education With More Emphasis on Science, Technology and Innovation During Inauguration of Aspen Institute Mexico

Grupo Salinas logo

MEXICO CITY, March 27, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas Chairman Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com) delivered a strong message about the need for education in science and technology during an event to introduce The Aspen Institute Mexico. Mr. Salinas' talk was given within a panel discussion led by Juan Ramon de la Fuente, President of the Advisory Board of The Aspen Institute Mexico. The panel also included world-renowned cellist Carlos Prieto.

Mr. Salinas said that the Mexican educational system must respond to current needs, including a return to a comprehensive approach with an emphasis on science, technology and innovation. He also noted his enthusiastic support for initiatives such as robotics competitions and music education for youth, such as the Esperanza Azteca orchestra system.

Robotics competitions seek to bring youth closer to new technologies, learn machinery skills and apply logical and critical thinking to solve real problems.

Esperanza Azteca has the mission to provide active teaching of universal values such as discipline, effort, excellence and teamwork to underprivileged children through music. A selected group from the program under the direction of Maestro Carlos Prieto delighted audiences with their talent.

Mr. Salinas is a founding member of the Advisory Board of The Aspen Institute Mexico, a civil society organization that develops activities related to education, leadership and public policy, through an open, pluralistic and nonpartisan dialogue.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Luciano Pascoe; (5255) 17201313 ext.36553; lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas