Ricardo Salinas Writes Business Column for Spanish-Language Daily La Opinion

Grupo Salinas logo

MEXICO CITY, April 9, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced that its Chairman, Ricardo Salinas, has begun to contribute as an invited columnist to the Spanish-language daily La Opinion, the most widely read Spanish-language newspaper in the United States.

In addition to adding value to society through business and social activities, Mr. Salinas is an opinion leader who shares views on topics ranging from economics, business, finance and public policy to history, the environment, social action and the arts.

The title of the piece that was published is "Por una prosperidad compartida" (For a Shared Prosperity), detailing the opportunities from free trade between the US and Mexico in terms of investment, production and employment, 20 years after the signing of NAFTA.

Given the closeness of the two economies, Mr. Salinas says that comprehensive immigration reform is essential. He also notes the investment opportunities in industries such as telecommunications and energy given the pending legislative reforms that seek to eliminate monopolies. He adds that the Mexican economy has strong growth prospects for the next two decades thanks to a young population and the gradual consolidation of the middle class. This is great news for Mexico and also very positive for the United States.

To read the column, visit the link, http://www.laopinion.com/opinion-columnistas/Por-una-prosperidad-compartida. To learn more about the ideas of Ricardo Salinas, visit his blog, www.ricardosalinas.com/blog.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexic an middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Luciano Pascoe; (5255) 17201313 ext.36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas