Nuclear Energy Industry Leaders Will Gather in Arizona May 19-21

Nuclear Energy Institute Logo

WASHINGTON, April 17, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Hundreds of nuclear energy industry leaders will convene May 19-21 in Scottsdale, Ariz., to discuss the technology's global value and engage in policy discussions on trade, market and other issues at the Nuclear Energy Institute's annual conference, the Nuclear Energy Assembly.

The morning of May 22, a ribbon-cutting ceremony will be held at the Phoenix facility that is one of two regional response centers being established this year as part of the nuclear energy industry's post-Fukushima safety enhancements.

NEI's annual conference and the ribbon-cutting ceremony are open to the news media.

The Nuclear Energy Assembly convenes as significant progress is being made in the construction of five reactors in the Southeastern United States and more than 70 reactors worldwide. At the same time, competitive challenges face some U.S. facilities as historically low natural gas prices, electricity market deficiencies and other factors have contributed to some premature nuclear plant retirements over the past year.

NEA will be held at The Westin Kierland, 6902 E. Greenway Parkway in Scottsdale, with presentations and panel discussions beginning 8 a.m. Mountain time May 20; the conference concludes noon May 21.

Several business, government and public policy leaders will address the conference:

  • Marvin Fertel, president and chief executive officer, Nuclear Energy Institute
  • John F. Young, president and CEO, Energy Future Holdings, and chairman, Nuclear Energy Institute
  • Christopher M. Crane, president and CEO, Exelon Corp., and vice chairman, Nuclear Energy Institute
  • Donald E. Brandt, chairman of the board, president and CEO, Pinnacle West Capital Corp.
  • Allison Macfarlane, chairman, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Colette Honorable, chairman, Arkansas Public Service Commission, and chairman of the board and president, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
  • Former U.S. Sens. Evan Bayh and Judd Gregg, co-chairs, Nuclear Matters
  • Ambassador Ronald Kirk, co-chair, Clean and Safe Energy Coalition
  • R. Nicholas Burns, former undersecretary of state for political affairs, U.S. Department of State
  • Dr. David Victor, professor, University of California-San Diego, and coordinating lead author, IPCC Fifth Assessment Report
  • Robert Stone, director, "Pandora's Promise"
  • Lawrence Makovich, vice president and senior advisor for global power, IHS CERA
  • William Mohl, president, wholesale commodities, Entergy Corp.
  • Anthony Earley, chairman, CEO and president, PG &E Corp.
  • David Christian, CEO, generation, Dominion Generation
  • Gerry Anderson, chairman, president and CEO, DTE Energy
  • Caroline Reda, president and CEO, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy
  • Daniel L. Roderick, president and CEO, Westinghouse Electric Co.
  • John L. Hopkins, chairman and CEO, NuScale Power, LLC
  • Michael A. McMurphy, executive vice president, strategy and institutional relations, Areva, Inc.
  • Joachim Specht, head of nuclear development, E.ON

Nuclear energy provides nearly 20 percent of U.S. electricity supplies and more than 60 percent of the electricity supplied by low-carbon sources. U.S. nuclear facilities produced an estimated 789 billion kilowatt-hours last year, a 2.6 percent increase from 2012 at a cost below that of other sources of generation.

Credentialed press is invited to attend the Nuclear Energy Assembly and the ribbon-cutting ceremony at the regional response center. For a registration form or additional information, please contact Steve Kerekes at 202.739.8073 or John Keeley at 202.739.8020.

The Nuclear Energy Institute is the nuclear energy industry's policy organization. Additional information about nuclear energy is available at

CONTACT: Contact NEI's media relations staff at, 202.739.8000 during business hours or 703.644.8805 after hours and weekends.

Source:Nuclear Energy Institute