×

Banco Azteca, a Grupo Salinas Company, Launches First Stage of Financial Education and Small Business Program

—The program is aimed at teaching youth and adults about the importance of saving, credit and budgets—

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 2, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Banco Azteca, a Grupo Salinas company, has launched a Financial Education and Small Business Program. Its initial stage is geared toward youth, and was recently presented to students of the Plantel Azteca middle and high school during an event led by Banco Azteca CEO Luis Niño de Rivera together with Jorge Torres Gongora, Director of the Financial Services Consumer Protection Agency (CONDUSEF in Spanish).

The program aims to teach basic financial skills through diverse activities, starting with an interactive play entitled "Saving, 'Yes,' Now What About Budgets".

Jorge Torres lauded the initiative. "Financial education is not an easy issue," he said to the students. "To the extent that you and your families have better financial education, we will have a better country due to the fact that we will avoid crises and will be able to promote higher economic growth and greater social welfare."

Banco Azteca's Luis Niño said, "It is very important that families know how much money they have each month and where they will spend it, where they can use credit and where to use savings."

Banco Azteca will take the play on the road during the current school year with staging at additional schools in Mexico City, as well as in the states of Jalisco, Yucatan, Sonora, San Luis Potosi and Baja California.

The play is complemented by special educational series of comic books that cover the concepts of household budgets, savings and credit, in addition to other consumer finance topics.

Banco Azteca will continue its Financial Education Program with activities such as screenings of a short-length film entitled "How to Start My Business and Manage My Finances" that will include discussion groups. Banco Azteca also signed an agreement with the National College of Professional Technical Education (CONALEP in Spanish) to promote special workshops on financial education for its students.

Banco Azteca is convinced that financial education is a critical tool to enhance the economic growth of individuals, their families, the communities where they live and the country as a whole.

Banco Azteca Profile

Banco Azteca is a financial institution that provides personal, group and collateral loans, credit cards, and commission-free savings accounts. The bank operates in Mexico, Panama, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Peru and Brazil. It is one of the largest banks in Mexico in terms of coverage, with more than 4,000 points of sale. Banco Azteca is backed by Grupo Elektra's more than six decades of experience in granting credit, state-of-the-art technology, as well as solid management practices, tailored financial products for the base of the pyramid and an unmatched collection system.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building Mexico's middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Press relations: Luciano Pascoe +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh +52 (55) 1720 0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Banco Azteca