×

Fundacion Azteca Presents Tuition Vouchers to Plantel Azteca Students

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 16, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Plantel Azteca, a fully-funded private middle and high school in Mexico for low-income students operated by Grupo Salinas' Fundación Azteca, announced that Grupo Salinas Chairman Ricardo Salinas presented tuition vouchers to students for the 2014-2015 school year during a special ceremony.

Tuition vouchers are presented to Plantel Azteca students to generate awareness among them and their families of the value of education excellence. This year, the vouchers will benefit 2,300 students with Ps.54,000 for school supplies, textbooks, uniforms, and enrollment and tuition fees for the full school year.

During the ceremony, Ricardo Salinas was accompanied by Fernando Suinaga Cárdenas, President of the Mexican Red Cross; Esteban Moctezuma Barragan, Executive President of Fundacion Azteca; Jorge Nasser Gobera, President of Nasser Global; and Maria Teresa Ruiz Badillo, Principal of Plantel Azteca, among other guests.

"Through Plantel Azteca we are showing that it is possible to pursue quality education and transform lives and communities. At Plantel Azteca we are forming the leaders that will change Mexico," said Ricardo Salinas, as he urged the students to always visualize themselves as the winners that they are.

As part of the values ​​promoted by Plantel Azteca, students presented the keys of a new ambulance to Fernando Suinaga of the Mexican Red Cross, who was thankful to Fundación Azteca for eight straight years of support that has allowed the Red Cross to renew its ambulance fleet.

Plantel Azteca is a pillar of the social programs of Grupo Salinas' Fundación Azteca. Since its inception in 1997, it is an active example of the value of education as the most powerful tool for improving the quality of life in our communities.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building Mexico's middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Press relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720 0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas