×

Grupo Salinas Chairman Ricardo Salinas Participates in 12th Annual Mexico Business Summit

QUERETARO, Mexico, Oct. 28, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its Chairman, Ricardo Salinas, participated in a panel discussion entitled "Where are we going?" during the Mexico Business Summit accompanied by Miguel Aleman Velasco, President of the Mexico Business Summit, Adolfo Franco, social entrepreneur and film producer; Angelica Fuentes, Executive President of Grupo Omnilife, and Ximena Puente de la Mora, President Commissioner of the Federal Institute for Access to Public Information and Data Protection (IFAI in Spanish). The panel was moderated by British journalist Nik Gowing.

Business leaders and entrepreneurs discussed the economic, social and political landscape of Mexico, agreeing that the most precious asset is the talent of youth.

"What makes a great country is its young people," emphasized Mr. Salinas, who acknowledged that although there is great disparity among youth in education and opportunities, it is necessary to foster a willingness to take risks within the rule of law. He continued: "We must find a way for our youth have better education, not by spending more, but by spending better."

Ricardo Salinas cited the author Niall Ferguson who said that currently everyone has broken the intergenerational pact, and that we are, as a society, leaving huge debts to our children.

Mr. Salinas continued stating that for Mexico to thrive, young people have to change their "chip" and act in an environment of security, rule of law, and greater productivity.

Two of the participating panelists, Ximena Puente de la Mora and Adolfo Franco, are part of Kybernus (www.kybernus.org), a program that promotes political and social leadership through a culture of values with a humanist, multi disciplinary, collaborative focus. Both agreed that this opportunity allows them to emerge as leaders of change.

Before concluding the day's activities, the Esperanza Azteca Orchestra of Queretaro performed a concert to standing ovations.

When introducing the orchestra, Ricardo Salinas said that this project, rather than aiming to create musicians, allows young people to learn first-hand about excellence, teamwork, to have respect and trust for each other, and increase self-esteem. "The orchestra project is beyond a musical challenge, it is a human formation project, of which I am very proud."

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building Mexico's middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Press relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh; +52 (55) 1720 0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas