×

Jugueton, Toy Drive Supported by Ricardo B. Salinas, Reaches New Milestone of Distributing 16,372,842 Toys

MEXICO CITY, Jan. 6, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- TV Azteca, S.A.B. de C.V. (BMV:AZTECA) (Latibex:XTZA), one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world, and part of Grupo Salinas —group of dynamic and technologically advanced companies, founded by entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com)— announced a new milestone of delivering 16,372,842 to underprivileged children today in Mexico, the United States and Central America.

Thanks to the generosity of individual and corporate donors, the Juguetón has become the biggest toy drive in the world. Since the first campaign in 1996, it has distributed more than 172 million toys in 20 years.

For the seventh year, the toys collected have also crossed international borders, and have been received by underprivileged children living in the United States and Guatemala, and this year in Honduras.

Company Profile

Azteca is one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world, operating two national television networks in Mexico, Azteca 13 and Azteca 7, through more than 300 owned and operated stations across the country. Azteca affiliates include Azteca US, a broadcast television network focused on the rapidly growing U.S. Hispanic market, and Azteca Web, an Internet company for North American Spanish speakers.

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace (www.iusacellenlace.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

CONTACT: Daniel McCosh +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com Luciano Pascoe +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mxSource:TV Azteca, SAB de CV