UPS Honors Indiana Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

INDIANAPOLIS, Feb. 17, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 58 elite drivers from Indiana are among 1,445 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Indiana boasts 224 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 6,331 years of accident-free driving. Charles Roach of Frankton is the state's senior safe driver, with 45 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 2,287 total UPS drivers in Indiana.

Globally, 7,878 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up more than 221,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That's enough miles to travel to Mars and back 36 times.

"My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved," said Zachary Scott, president, UPS Ohio Valley District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 52 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 46 years of safe driving. Sixty-two others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you're interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Indiana drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Altman, David Wolcott Indianapolis 81st
Armstrong, Larry Galveston Kokomo
Beers, Larry Elkhart Elkhart
Benson, Michael Greensburg Indianapolis 81st
Berta, Michael Granger South Bend Center
Bingham, M Bret Camby Indianapolis 81st
Bledsoe, David Terre Haute Terre Haute
Blessinger, Ronald Cicero Indianapolis 81st
Broeker, Allen Huntingburg Evansville
Bymaster, Michael Indianapolis Indianapolis 81st
Carl, Alan Schererville Chicago Area Consolidated Hub
Chambers III, Paul Ft Wayne Ft Wayne
Christie, Alan Washington Washington
Dawalt, Jack Carmel Marion
Dillion Jr, Bobby Roanoke Indianapolis 81st
Einhaus, John Osgood Versailles
Fish, James Laporte Westville
Fox, Brian Carmel Indianapolis 81st
Gardner, Gregory Versailles Versailles
Garriott, Daryl Speedway Indianapolis 81st
Gazda, Debra Whiting Harvey/Chicago Heights
George, Stanley Indianapolis Indianapolis 81st
Grieger, Don Westfield Indianapolis 81st
Grubb, Gregg Fremont Waterloo
Harris, Scott Huntertown Ft Wayne
James, Jeffrey Huntertown Ft Wayne
Kingsley, Jay Grabil Ft Wayne
Klawitter, Anthony Munster Jefferson Hub
Lawson, Kevin Rosedale Terre Haute
Lehner, James Indianapolis Indianapolis 81st
Linton, Tony New Albany Indianapolis 81st
Mandernach, Kurt Crown Point Hammond/East Lake
Marlow, David Ft Wayne Ft Wayne
McClellan, James Brazil Indianapolis 81st
McCutchen, Steven Indianapolis Indianapolis 81st
Mickens, Todd Plainfield Indianapolis 16th
Montalbano, Jay Bourbon Bourbon
Moore, Michael Lowell Jefferson Hub
Nauert, Kevin Indianapolis Indianapolis 16th
Ortiz, Joyce Portage Harvey/Chicago Heights
Powers, Greg Ladoga Lafayette
Price, Robert Highland Chicago Area Consolidated Hub
Rehlander, Luke Laporte Westville
Renner, Roy Anderson Anderson
Richter, David Hobart Chicago Area Consolidated Hub
Robertson, Todd Brazil Indianapolis 81st
Roehler, Cory Centerville Centerville
Shetler, Christopher Fortville Indianapolis 81st
Simmons, Jody Battleground Indianapolis 81st
Smith II, Delbert Corydon Clarksville
Snider, William Valparaiso Westville
Stewart, Robert Richmond Centerville
Strater, Norman Ashley Waterloo
Surowiec, Thomas Lowell Jefferson Hub
Tezich, Jon Osceola Indianapolis 81st
Toyra, Jay Lafayette Lafayette
Worman, John Wolcottville Ft Wayne
Yorlano, Michael Indianapolis Indianapolis 16th

CONTACT: Dan McMackin

Source: UPS