UPS Honors Michigan Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

DETROIT, Feb. 17, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 57 elite drivers from Michigan are among 1,445 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Michigan boasts 251 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 7,015 years of accident-free driving. Thomas Camp of Livonia is the state's senior safe driver, with 52 years of accident-free driving under his belt, ranking him the safest driver among UPS's 102,000 drivers. There are 2,894 total UPS drivers in Michigan.

Globally, 7,878 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up more than 221,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That's enough miles to travel to Mars and back 36 times.

"My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved," said Stefan Wilson, president, UPS Great Lakes District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, with 52 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 46 years of safe driving. Sixty-two others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you're interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Michigan drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Bawol, Andrew Clinton Township Madison Heights
Beveridge, William Westland Livonia Hub
Bishop, Frederick Athens Battle Creek Center
Bohner, Edward Clarkston Madison Heights
Bollman, John Bay City Saginaw
Brown, Kim Davison Flint
Burns, Robert St. Clair Shores Woodbridge
Clash, Chris Kingsford Iron Mountain Center
Cooper, Kevin Indian River Petoskey
Cote, Gary Chassell Houghton Center
Crane, William Wyoming Grand Rapids Hub
Cutsy, Paul Westland Livonia Hub
Czinski, James Willis Ypsilanti
Ellis, Leon Portage Kalamazoo
Erickson, Todd Manistee Ludington
Green, Stephen Clyde Township Port Huron
Greer Ii, Robert Lansing Lansing
Haar, Thomas Canton Ypsilanti
Holmes, Rd Tustin Cadillac
Huff, Suzanne Utica Madison Heights
Joachimi, David Rockford Grand Rapids Hub
Johnson, David Brighton Wixom
Kiehle, Randall Grand Rapids Grand Rapids Hub
Kivisto, Gregory Negaunee Marquette
Koltonowski, Joseph Battle Creek Battle Creek Center
Laskowski, Bryan Livonia Madison Heights
Lewandowski, Mark Posen Alpena
Lizyness, Dennis Wyandotte Monroe
Ludwig, Patrick Pleasant Lake Jackson
Mackensen Jr, Ronald Port Huron Port Huron
Malcolm, Stuart Jackson Jackson
Marchwinski, Daniel Sterling Heights Woodbridge
Marohn, Ronald Sparta Grand Rapids Hub
Marvin, Mark Sterling Hts Madison Heights
Mattson, Ted Tustin Cadillac
Mays, Thomas Dansville Jackson
Mendyk, Raymond Saginaw Saginaw
Michalak, Keith Westland Livonia Hub
Moore, David Ortonville Pontiac
Myers, Stephen Lapeer Flint
Neilson, James Waterford Madison Heights
Olsen, Robert Lachine Alpena
Peters, Adam Delton Kalamazoo
Picard, Joy Whitehall Muskegon
Quayle, Greg Champion Marquette
Scarborough, Christopher Macomb Woodbridge
Schwemin, Patty Jo Marquette Marquette
Slack, David Grand Ledge Lansing
Stanley, Jerry Holly Ypsilanti
Vercammen, John West Branch West Branch Center
Watkins, Ted Grand Rapids Grand Rapids Hub
Weishuhn, Alan Bay City Saginaw
Wheeler, Michael Livonia Livonia Hub
Wolske, Matthew Eau Claire St. Joseph Center
Worsham, Thomas Jackson Jackson
Youngs, Thomas Trenton Taylor
Zub Jr, Walter Monroe Monroe

CONTACT: Dan McMackin

Source: UPS