UPS Honors Mississippi Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

JACKSON, Miss., Feb. 17, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 14 elite drivers from Mississippi are among 1,445 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Mississippi boasts 99 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 2,854 years of accident-free driving. Merriel Torrey of Utica is the state's senior safe driver, with 42 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 825 total UPS drivers in Mississippi.

Globally, 7,878 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up more than 221,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That's enough miles to travel to Mars and back 36 times.

"My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved," said Kenneth Harms, president, UPS Mid South District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 52 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 46 years of safe driving. Sixty-two others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you're interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Mississippi drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Berry, Eric Carriere Gulfport
Caraway, John Meridian Jackson
Davis, Donald Brandon Jackson
Dunn, Willie Hornlake Oakhaven Package Distribution Center
Foshee, Robert Sardis Batesville
Gresham, Eddie Jackson Jackson
Harris, Timothy Jackson Jackson
Hughes, Michael Hernando Oakhaven Package Distribution Center
Jackson, Howard Jackson Jackson
Johnson, Danny Brandon Jackson
Jones Sr, Bobby Jackson Jackson
Marshall Jr, Marlin Brandon Jackson
Skipper, Otis Hernando Oakhaven Package Distribution Center
Taylor, Arnold Vicksburg Vicksburg

CONTACT: Dan McMackin

Source: UPS