×

Photo Release -- Ricardo B. Salinas Receives Honorary Doctorate From the Universidad Autonoma de Guadalajara

GUADALAJARA, Mexico, March 9, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its chairman, Ricardo B. Salinas, was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Universidad Autónoma de Guadalajara (UAG).

Ricardo B. Salinas receives Honorary Doctorate from the Universidad Autónoma de Guadalajara


A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=31288

In a ceremony held in the framework of the 80th anniversary under the auspices of Jalisco Governor Aristotle Sandoval, UAG President Antonio Leaño Reyes said the honorary doctorate is a recognition of the intellectual, social and spiritual leadership of Ricardo Salinas, as well as his success as an entrepreneur, generating jobs and promoting the education of Mexican youth.

Ricardo Salinas presented a thesis entitled "Leadership and Cultural Change: Hear the Call of the Future" in which he argued that Mexico needs a cultural change to promote the respect of law, effort, innovation, independence and an appetite for risk.

President Leaño Reyes added that Mexico must recover values-based education to offset violent, uncompromising and destructive behaviors.

"Institutions are a reflection of the people, as are the people who form the institutions, and have neglected the rationale for many of them, especially the rule of law," said President Leaño Reyes.

Jalisco Governor Aristotle Sandoval said Ricardo Salinas is a leader who knows that there is no potential growth in an organization, a community or a country if there is not sustained ongoing growth in every person.

Past recipients of honorary doctorates from the UAG include prominent Mexican and foreign personalities such as José Vasconcelos, Antonio Ortiz Mena, Juan Sánchez Navarro, Jacques Cousteau, Luis Alberto Lacalle, Álvaro Uribe and architects Luis Barragán and Pedro Ramírez Vázquez, among many others.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

CONTACT: Press Relations: Daniel McCosh; +52 (55) 1720 0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx

Source: Grupo Salinas