First Group of Inductees Announced for Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame

HARTFORD, Conn., April 7, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Connecticut Broadcasters Association (CBA) has announced the organization's establishment of a "Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame" to complement its established program of lifetime achievement awards, and has revealed the names of the Hall of Fame's first 12 inductees.

The Class of 2015 will be officially honored at a "Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame" Induction Luncheon Ceremony on Tuesday, October 20, 2015 at the Hilton Hartford Hotel in Downtown Hartford. The ceremony will be part of that day's Connecticut Broadcasters Association 60th Annual Convention.

"The Connecticut Broadcasters Association has served the common interests of radio and television broadcasters in our state since 1955 and, ultimately, the Connecticut community statewide," explains Klarn DePalma, Chair of the Connecticut Broadcasters Association, who also is Vice President and General Manager of WFSB-TV 3 Hartford, Conn. and WSHM-TV 3 and WGGB-TV 40 in Springfield, Mass. "We have created this 'Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame' to honor remarkable individuals for their long and particularly distinguished service to the broadcasting industry and to the people of Connecticut."

The first 12 members of the new Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame are (in alphabetical order):

- (Posthumous honor) Boyd E. Arnold of Canton;
- Gerry Brooks of Glastonbury;
- Pablo de Jesus Colon Jr. of Bridgeport;
- Denise D'Ascenzo of Guilford;
- Brad Davis of Bloomfield;
- (Posthumous honor) Arnold Dean of Rocky Hill;
- Joe Dimaggio of Wethersfield;
- Richard Ferguson of Westport;
- Bill Glynn of Wethersfield;
- Ed Henry of Middletown;
- John Ramsey of West Hartford; and
- Al Terzi of Southington.

Over the last decade, the Connecticut Broadcasters Association has presented Lifetime Achievement Awards to Bud Finch, Dr. Mel Goldstein, and Bob Steele – all legendary on-air talent – and Paul Taff, a multi-decade broadcast executive who concluded his career in the state as the beloved President of the CBA.

Established in 1955, the Connecticut Broadcasters Association is celebrating its 60th year as a respected industry leader in legal, governmental, education and community issues on both the State and National levels. Members include broadcast TV stations, radio stations, vendors and companies with a business interest in broadcasting, educational facilities, and individuals with involvement in the broadcasting industry. Member radio and TV stations also participate in Connecticut Broadcasters Association public service campaigns supporting the work of the Connecticut National Guard, U.S. Coast Guard, and the Connecticut Department of Public Safety's Office of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications – Emergency Alert System (EAS) and AMBER Alert programs, among other efforts.

For more information about the Connecticut Broadcasters Association, and sponsorship opportunities at the October 20, 2015 "Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame" Induction Ceremony, visit or call CBA President Michael Ryan at 860-305-2038.

CONTACT: MEDIA CONTACT: Laura Soll, 860-688-4499 or Cell 860-833-4466

Source:Connecticut Broadcasters Association