DEINOVE: International scientific recognition for Miroslav Radman and Rodney J. Rothstein

  • Miroslav Radman, co-founder of DEINOVE, elected member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences
  • Rodney J. Rothstein, member of the Board of Directors, elected member of the National Academy of Sciences

MONTPELLIER, France, May 26, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Deinove (Alternext Paris:ALDEI), a biotech company developing innovative processes for producing biofuels and bio-based chemicals by using Deinococcus bacteria as host strains, is proud to announce that:

  • Miroslav Radman, Emeritus Professor at the Faculty of Medicine of the Paris Descartes University, one of the founders of DEINOVE and a member of its Scientific Advisory Board, was elected as a foreign honorary member - the only one in biochemistry and molecular biology - of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.
  • Rodney J. Rothstein, Professor of Genetics and Development at Columbia University (New York) and a member of DEINOVE's Board of Directors since 2010, was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

"We are very pleased with the international scientific recognition that these nominations reflect for both Miroslav Radman and Rodney J. Rothstein", states Emmanuel Petiot, CEO of DEINOVE. "All DEINOVE teams are proud to collaborate with such great scientists and their contribution to the development of our company is invaluable".

President of the Scientific Advisory Board, Jacqueline Lecourtier adds: "These prestigious awards highlight the quality of the consultants which DEINOVE has managed to gather. We warmly welcome their nominations and look forward to continuing to work with them".

Further information at:

About Prof. Miroslav Radman, co-founder and member of the Scientific Advisory Board of DEINOVE

In 1970, Miroslav RADMAN proposed a hypothesis and original paradigm that still dominates the field of DNA repair, according to which mutations and repairs are overall cell response to genotoxic shock, the SOS response. Demonstration of the molecular mechanism of speciation (formation of new species) is the other most spectacular discovery of Miroslav RADMAN. Lastly, Prof. Radman has solved a 50-year-old mystery by revealing the molecular basis of extreme resistance to ionizing radiation and desiccation of the strongest bacterium: Deinococcus radiodurans (Nature 443: 569-573, 2006).

Miroslav Radman has published 207 scientific articles cited over 10,000 times, and is the author of 7 patents. He has won a dozen international awards, including the Lounsbery Prize from two academies (French and American) and the FEMS (Federation of European Microbiological Societies) Lwoff Prize in 2011, which rewards outstanding work in the field of microbiology in Europe.

More information at

About Rodney J. Rothstein, board member at DEINOVE

Pioneer of genomic recombination, he used this technique to identify new genes involved in maintaining genomic stability. Specialist in yeast genetics and cell biology approaches, he has also contributed to the understanding of the cellular response to DNA damage and associated genetic recombination mechanisms. He has published over 100 articles and is also author of several patents relating to yeast applications in biotechnology. In 2009, he was awarded the Genetics Society of America's Novitski Prize, which recognizes the highest levels of creativity and intellectual ingenuity in solving significant problems of genetics research. Elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in 2011, he is also a member of several scientific boards of biopharmaceutical companies.

More information at

About the American Academy of Arts & Science

Since its founding in 1780 on the Harvard University campus (Cambridge, MA), the American Academy has served the nation as a champion of scholarship, civil dialogue, and useful knowledge.

As one of the nation's oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, the Academy convenes leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to address critical challenges facing our global society.

Through studies, publications, and programs on the Humanities, Arts, and Education; Science, Engineering, and Technology; Global Security and International Affairs; and American Institutions and the Public Good, the Academy provides authoritative and nonpartisan policy advice to decision-makers in government, academia, and the private sector.

The Academy's membership of 4,600 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members includes many of the most accomplished scholars and practitioners worldwide. The Academy frequently sponsors meetings, lectures, panel discussions, and informal gatherings around the country. Topics are drawn from Academy projects and studies as well as the research and writings of Academy members.

Academy publications include the journal Dædalus; a magazine, the Bulletin; and books, research papers, and other special reports.

More information at

About the National Academy of Science

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged - together with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council - with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community. Nearly 500 members of the NAS have won Nobel Prizes, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, founded in 1914, is today one of the premier international journals publishing the results of original research.

More information at


DEINOVE (Alternext Paris: ALDEI) is ushering in a new era of green chemistry by designing and developing new standards of production based on bacteria of untapped potential: the Deinococci. Taking advantage of the bacteria's unique genetic properties and unusual robustness, DEINOVE optimizes natural fermentation and metabolic capabilities of these bacterial "micro-factories" to produce high value-added products from non-food biomass. The Company's primary markets are 2nd-generation biofuels (DEINOL) and bio-based chemicals (DEINOCHEM). On these markets, the Company offers its technology to industrial partners globally. Listed on NYSE Alternext since April 2010, DEINOVE was founded by Dr. Philippe Pouletty, General Partner of TRUFFLE CAPITAL, and Pr. Miroslav Radman, of the Faculty of Medicine of Paris Descartes University. The company employs over 40 people in its new offices and laboratories located in Montpellier, France.

More information at


DEINOVE Emmanuel Petiot CEO
Tel.: +33 (0)4 48 19 01 28

Coralie Martin Communication, Marketing and IR Manager
Tel.: +33 (0)4 48 19 01 60
ALIZE RP, Press Relations Caroline Carmagnol / Valentine Boivin
Mobile: +33 (0)6 83 48 23 27

PR in English