×

Stora Enso sets new financial targets for the Group and divisions

HELSINKI, Finland, May 28, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- STORA ENSO OYJ STOCK EXCHANGE RELEASE 28 May 2015 at 14.00 EET

Stora Enso has defined clear strategic targets for each division. The targets will enable the markets to better follow each division's performance, while guiding the divisions in the implementation of the Group's strategy - as it transforms itself from a traditional paper and board producer to a customer focused renewable materials company. As Stora Enso's divisions operate in very distinct business environments, the targets will vary between the divisions.

The key divisional financial target is the Return on Operating Capital (ROOC) percentage - with the exception of the Paper division, which has Free Cash Flow to Net Sales, because its target focuses on the division's cash flow generation. The targets are defined to be ambitious but reachable within a 5 year planning horizon.

STORA ENSO'S FINANCIAL TARGETS

KPI Target
Group Dividend To distribute 50% of net income
over the cycle
ROCE >13%
Net Sales growth excl. Paper To grow faster than the relevant market
Net Debt / Operational EBITDA <3.0x
Fixed Costs / Sales ratio <20%
Debt/equity ratio <80%
Consumer Board ROOC >20%
Packaging Solutions ROOC >20%
Biomaterials ROOC >15%
Wood Products ROOC >18%
Paper Free Cash Flow to Net Sales >7%

ROCE = Return on Capital Employed
ROOC = Return on Operating Capital

Capital Markets Day webcast

Stora Enso's Capital Markets Day takes place in London today. You are welcome to follow the presentations focusing on Stora Enso's packaging business and innovation in a live webcast starting at 13.00 UK time (14.00 CET, 15.00 EET, 08.00 EDT). Watch at http://edge.media-server.com/m/p/nvkju4nc.

For further information, please contact:
Seppo Parvi, CFO, tel. +358 2046 21205
Ulla Paajanen-Sainio, SVP, Investor Relations, tel. +358 40 763 8767
Ulrika Lilja, EVP, Global Communications, tel. +46 72 221 92 28
Hanne Karrinaho, Head of Financial Communications, tel. +358 40 766 9452

www.storaenso.com
www.storaenso.com/investors

Stora Enso is a leading global provider of renewable solutions in packaging, biomaterials, wood and paper. Our aim is to replace non-renewable materials by innovating and developing new products and services based on wood and other renewable materials. We employ some 27 000 people in more than 35 countries, and our sales in 2014 were EUR 10.2 billion. Stora Enso shares are listed on NASDAQ OMX Helsinki (STEAV, STERV) and Stockholm (STE A, STE R). In addition, the shares are traded in the USA as ADRs (SEOAY) on the International OTCQX over-the-counter market.

STORA ENSO OYJ

Source:Stora Enso Oyj