×

Mexico Needs a Cultural Change: Ricardo B. Salinas

-- "It requires leaders who can see beyond the immediate
and imagine what this country can be"--

MEXICO CITY, June 2, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its chairman, Ricardo B. Salinas, offered a presentation about "Leadership and Cultural Change" to about 800 members and directors of PwC Mexico (PiceWaterhouseCoopers), at its facilities in Mexico.

In his conference, Mr. Salinas said that current global challenges include threats to democracy, increasing regulation in free markets and high taxes, which hinder economic growth, as well as excessive public debt that compromises the standard of living of future generations.

In this context, society often takes a passive stance and expects government to solve that many of its problems. This illustrates a serious lack of effective leadership.

To remedy this situation, in the case of Mexico, he emphasized a cultural change to strengthen the rule of law, promote the value of effort, invest in human capital, and promote an entrepreneurial culture that takes risks. Mr. Salinas concluded that Mexico needs leaders who can see beyond the immediate and look to the country's future.

The talk was given in Mexico City, with remote relays in Guadalajara, Monterrey, Queretaro and other cities. After the presentation, Mr. Salinas held a question and answer session.

Grupo Salinas actively encourages participation in forums to exchange ideas aimed at promoting the welfare and progress of societies.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

CONTACT: Press Relations Luciano Pascoe Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

Source: Grupo Salinas