AFME Honors Actors, Musicians, Filmmakers, and Films for Achievements and Social Impact

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., June 23, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Following their third successful year, the Albuquerque Film & Music Experience (AFME) announces the following award winners, whose talents, films, music, or contributions to the entertainment industry have been above-and-beyond.

"At AFME, we strive to not only provide excellent entertainment to the public and a venue for filmmakers and musicians to showcase their talent, but also to provide a forum for new discussions and relationships in the industry to form," said AFME Executive Producer, Ivan Wiener. "This year's festival featured an incredible cast of high-caliber filmmakers and musicians, and we're excited to announce our winners and to honor them for the impact they have made on the industry."

Winners of the 2015 AFME Awards include:

Ann Lerner - Clara Apodaca Community Leadership Award – Ann Lerner, Film Liaison Officer for the City of Albuquerque Film Office, received the award, which is presented to a person or persons who have made a significant impact on community with their time, resources and leadership through charitable or business endeavors.

Joaquim de Almeida - Robert & Sibylle Redford Creative Achievement Award – Awarded to an individual who has shown excellence in filmmaking, acting, directing or the arts while contributing to society over their career.

Annika Marks - AFME Social Impact Award – Awarded to an actor or filmmaker who has made an impact through charitable work or has produced a film that has created societal change.

Allen Winston - Community Partner Award – Award is presented to a sponsor or partner whose time and support to AFME and other organizations have made a significant impact to the community.

Hannah MacPherson - Movie Magic Award – The award is presented to an industry professional who makes magic happen behind the scenes through their craft.

Chet Zar and Mike Correll with "I Like to Paint Monsters" - Guerrilla Marketing Award – Awarded to the filmmaker that promotes their movie best throughout Albuquerque leading up to and during AFME.

"All Seasons Become One" - Best Short Film – Awarded to the film that shares the art of filmmaking while having the punch of a feature. Director Demitra Tsioulos.

"Same Difference" - Best Documentary – Award is given to the film that captures our interest through captivation or education.

Luis Bordonada for his role in "La Botella" - Best Actor Award – Awarded to an actor in a feature or short film at AFME that makes the biggest impact through their work on screen.

Johanna Watts for her role in "Career Girl" - Elizabeth Pena Best Actress Award – Awarded to an actress in a feature or short film at AFME.

Richie Adams "Una Vida" - Best Director – Awarded to a director who shows major chops in filmmaking.

"Luft Gangster: Memoirs of a Second Class Hero" - Audience Choice Award – Awarded to the film the community is most impressed by.

"Keep in Touch" - Best Feature Film – Presented to the feature film that has the most impact on audiences during AFME while telling an amazing story.

Jazz Legend Bobby Shew - AFME 2015 Music Award - Awarded to a musician or music producer who has made a significant impact in film, music and the arts.

Graeme Taylor - AFME 2015 Visionary Award - Awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to future generations through their work and actions.

"All of our award winners have made significant contributions to their respective fields, and it is great for our community to recognize their work," continued Wiener. "We look forward to seeing them continue to do great things for the entertainment industry and global communities."

AFME is a weeklong film and music festival, held in Albuquerque, NM each year. For more information, visit

CONTACT: Joanie Griffin Phone: (505)764-4444 ext 222 Email:

Source: Albuquerque Film & Music Experience