×

Photo Release -- Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra Performs to Standing Ovations at the Aspen Institute Ideas Festival

Esperanza Azteca seeks to build better human beings through music and currently has more than 16,000 youth participants

Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra performs to standing ovations at the Aspen Institute Ideas Festival at Aspen, Colorado


82 orchestra network promotes important values with underprivileged children

ASPEN, Colo., July 3, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, founded by the entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas, announced today that the Esperanza Azteca (www.esperanzaazteca.com.mx), network of youth orchestras delivered an inspiring performance at the Aspen Institute Ideas Festival.

A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=34242

Mr. Salinas presented the orchestra together with Aspen Institute President Walter Isaacson. The Aspen Institute organizes activities dedicated to leadership, education and public policies for its members and guests. The ensemble, which included 37 youth musicians for the event, played a repertoire that included works by Beethoven, Vivaldi and the Mexican composer José Pablo Moncayo.

In five years since its launch, Esperanza Azteca has created 82 orchestras in Mexico, El Salvador and in Los Angeles, with total participation of more than 16,000 youths. The program promotes active values like discipline, effort, teamwork and perseverance to build better citizens.

Ricardo B. Salinas is convinced that education is the most sustainable social investment, and music education is a fundamental part of this preparation, contributing to cultural change that promotes community development. The goal of Esperanza Azteca is to reach half a million children.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade shares on the Mexican Stock Market and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

CONTACT: Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas