×

North American Economies Will Become More Competitive and Integrated: Ricardo Salinas

México is fundamental in the generation of more prosperity in the North American Region

Talk presented at the Aspen Institute

ASPEN, Colo., July 6, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its founder, Ricardo B. Salinas, presented his ideas about the Mexican economy and the North American region, at the Aspen Institute Ideas Festival.

Accompanied by Elliot Gerson, Executive Vice President of the Aspen Institute -an organization that develops activities dedicated to leadership, education and public policy-, Mr. Salinas said the Mexican economy has had a fundamental transformation in the last two decades, boosting manufacturing and diversifying and expanding exports, which currently stand at about US$400 billion. This represents the consolidation of increasing prosperity within Mexico's middle class.

A fundamental part of this growth has been NAFTA, which strengthens bilateral trade with the US, and has promoted robust foreign direct investment between the two countries to the tune of about $100 billion. Several of the recent structural reforms in Mexico, such as the education, energy and telecommunications, lay the groundwork for an even more dynamic development.

Mr. Salinas expects the Mexican and US economies to be increasingly integrated, given the comparative advantages. He added that further integration will lead to superior global competitiveness for companies on both side of the border, creating millions of good jobs.

Ricardo Salinas actively participates in forums that promote the exchange of ideas to generate further development for the economies and well-being and progress in the communities.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade shares on the Mexican Stock Market and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

CONTACT: Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas