Texas' Rick Perry left out of lineup for prime-time debate

Gov. Rick Perry's plan to energize the economy
Gov. Rick Perry: I know how to secure the border
Gov. Perry revisits 'oops' moment

The lineup for the first 2016 Republican presidential debate was unveiled Tuesday, with businessman Donald Trump leading the way followed by former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush and Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker.

Former Texas Gov. Rick Perry was the most prominent candidate to miss the cut for Thursday's 10-person prime-time debate in Cleveland. Six others will join him in a second forum that will take place before the prime-time debate.

Fox News determined the participants by taking an average of five recent national polls of likely Republican voters. The first Fox debate will start at 5 p.m. ET, followed by the main debate at 9 p.m.

Main debate participants

  1. Donald Trump
  2. Jeb Bush
  3. Scott Walker
  4. Mike Huckabee
  5. Ben Carson
  6. Ted Cruz
  7. Marco Rubio
  8. Rand Paul
  9. Chris Christie
  10. John Kasich

Second debate participants

  1. Rick Perry
  2. Rick Santorum
  3. Bobby Jindal
  4. Carly Fiorina
  5. Lindsey Graham
  6. George Pataki
  7. Jim Gilmore