TV Azteca Local Station Initiative Plants More Than 1.5 Million Trees

—"Un Nuevo Bosque" mobilizes 150,000 volunteers to transform the environment for a better future—

—Grupo Salinas companies continually reaffirm their commitment to the environment—

MEXICO CITY, Sept. 14, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- TV Azteca, S.A.B. de C.V. (BMV:AZTECA) (Latibex:XTZA), one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world —and a Grupo Salinas company, founded by entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas— announced today that through the reforestation campaign "Un Nuevo Bosque (A New Forest)" the company has promoted the planting of more than a million and a half trees, through its local stations across the country, supported by 150,000 volunteers throughout 13 years.

Since 2002, TV Azteca's local stations, in conjunction with the National Forestry Commission (CONAFOR) and local governments, convene civil society to reforest through television spots, attracting the participation of tens of thousands of families thanks to the reach of broadcast television.

The process of planting trees includes land preparation, the supply of local trees classes and activity materials, as well as the escort of CONAFOR authorities and Civil Protection to ensure a seamless operation. After the planting, spots thanking participants are transmitted and there are follow-ups capsules monitoring the evolution of the seedlings.

These events are a great exercise of family life, where many parents seek to develop environmental consciousness with their children, and leave a better environment for future generations.

Reforestation is an ongoing commitment and TV Azteca expects to close 2015 with four additional reforestation events. The figure is added to the 17 events already done in similar number of states in Mexico so far this year, bringing the number of trees planted to 1.6 million with a total of 200,000 volunteers across the country.

Mexico has one of the highest levels of biodiversity in the world, and Grupo Salinas and its founder, Ricardo B. Salinas, seek to improve the environment and raise awareness about the importance of environmental stewardship to preserve our natural wealth. Learn more about Grupo Salinas environmental activities thorough its companies sustainability reports at: www.gruposalinas.com.mx/en/sustentabilidad

Company Profile

TV Azteca is one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world, operating two national television networks in Mexico, El trece and Azteca 7, through more than 300 owned and operated stations across the country. TV Azteca affiliates include Azteca US, a broadcast television network focused on the rapidly growing U.S. Hispanic market, and Azteca Web, an Internet company for North American Spanish speakers.

TV Azteca is a Grupo Salinas company (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, contributing to build the middle class of the countries in which they operate, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. The companies include: TV Azteca (www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. However, member companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Except for historical information, the matters discussed in this press release are forward-looking statements and are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Other risks that may affect Azteca and its subsidiaries are identified in documents sent to securities authorities.

CONTACT: Investor Relations Bruno Rangel Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 jrangelk@gruposalinas.com.mx Rolando Villarreal Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 rvillarreal@gruposalinas.com.mx Press Relations Luciano Pascoe Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mxSource:TV Azteca, SAB de CV