WASHINGTON, Sept. 21, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Jean E. Robillard, MD, vice president for medical affairs, The University of Iowa, was named chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC) at its annual meeting held September 16-18 in Atlanta. A pediatric nephrologist, Dr. Robillard leads a comprehensive and fully integrated academic health center, known as UI Health Care, which has become a model for academic medicine in the 21st century.

"Dr. Robillard is an outstanding academic health center leader who is recognized for his skillful efforts and collaborative approaches to expand health services and research, as well as for his numerous scholarly works," noted Dr. Steven A. Wartman, AAHC president and CEO, adding "I have had the pleasure to work with him on AAHC projects in the past, and very much look forward to benefitting from his proficient knowledge in his role as chair of the AAHC Board as we move forward to address the challenges and opportunities of a transforming healthcare landscape."

Prior to assuming his current position, Dr. Robillard served at the University of Iowa as the dean of the Carver College of Medicine. Before moving to Iowa, he was chair and professor of pediatrics at the University of Michigan and physician-in-chief at C.S. Mott Children's Hospital.

Lilly Marks, vice President for health affairs for the University of Colorado and Anschutz Medical Campus, was elected to the position of chair-elect of the AAHC board. Ms. Marks is a well-known national expert regarding academic health center finances, healthcare delivery, clinical practice management, and leadership issues in academic medicine. The University of Colorado and Anschutz Medical Campus include the Schools of Medicine, Dental Medicine, Pharmacy, Public Health, College of Nursing and Graduate School, and the University of Colorado Hospital and Children's Hospital Colorado.

Newly elected to the board for three-year terms are: Howard J. Federoff, MD, PhD, vice chancellor, health affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, University of California, Irvine; and Joe G. N. "Skip"Garcia, MD, senior vice president for health sciences, The University of Arizona Health Sciences Center – Tucson & Phoenix Biomedical Campuses. Elected for a one-year term is Sam Hawgood, MBBS, chancellor, University of California, San Francisco.

The AAHC is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the nation's health and well-being through the vigorous leadership of academic health centers.

A photo accompanying this release is available at:

CONTACT: Elizabeth Bishop Gemoets, 202-265-9600

Source:Association of Academic Health Centers