×

Photo Release -- Mexico Needs Well-Prepared Leaders to Drive a Profound Cultural Change

MEXICO CITY, Sept. 24, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its chairman, Ricardo B. Salinas, delivered the talk "Leadership and Cultural Change" to more than 1,500 students and faculty staff from the Universidad Anáhuac México Norte, as well as thousands more via remote relays to seven different university campuses across Mexico.

Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego, Chairman of Grupo Salinas, delivered the talk "Leadership and Cultural Change" at the Universidad Anáhuac México Norte


Accompanied by Dean Jesus Quirce Andrés and Vice-Deans of the institution, Mr. Salinas said that a leader is someone who is prepared, knows his or her surroundings and makes well-informed decisions. A leader organizes and inspires a responsible and trained team, oversees implementation, and with changes in the environment reviews the actions to adapt to new conditions, so that appropriate direction is achieved.

In his conference, Mr. Salinas said current global challenges include threats to democracy, increasing regulation in free markets and high taxes, which hinder economic growth, as well as excessive public debt that compromises the standard of living of future generations.

In this context, society often takes a passive stance and expects government to solve that many of its problems. This illustrates a serious lack of effective leadership.

To remedy this situation, in the case of Mexico, he emphasized a cultural change to strengthen the rule of law, promote the value of effort, invest in human capital, and promote an entrepreneurial culture that takes risks. Mr. Salinas concluded that Mexico needs leaders who can see beyond the immediate and look to the country's future.

The audience showed great interest in the concepts expressed by Mr. Salinas, and at the end of the presentation there was an active session of questions and answers, which further enriched the dialogue with the student body.

Grupo Salinas actively encourages participation in forums to exchange ideas aimed at promoting the welfare and progress of societies.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). TV Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade shares on the Mexican Stock Market and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=36411

CONTACT: Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas