×

Benjamin Salinas Sada is Appointed CEO of TV Azteca

Brings proven experience in producing innovative content, appealing to younger audiences—

Successful entrepreneur, with deep knowledge of the media industry and broadcast television—

Replaces Mario San Roman, who will be Vice-Chairman of the Board, responsible for the execution of strategic projects—

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 1, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- TV Azteca, S.A.B. de C.V. (BMV:AZTECA) (Latibex:XTZA), one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world announced today that its Board appointed Benjamin Salinas Sada as CEO of TV Azteca, replacing Mario San Roman, who will be Vice-Chairman of the Board, responsible for the execution of strategic projects and advising the CEO of the company.

Mr. Sada Salinas, 32 years old, son of Ricardo B. Salinas, founder of Grupo Salinas, has over a decade of entrepreneurial experience in media, content production, commercialization of goods and services, and energy businesses, with solid results.

As a content generator, he created innovative concepts, and produces and co-produces an array of programming for multiple platforms. Part of such content, such as Asgaard, Drenaje Profundo and La Teniente, was created for TV Azteca, reaching large audiences, especially young people, and optimally targeted market segments that are attractive for advertisers.

"There is a new generation of viewers seeking bold content, an audience that wants to be surprised; TV Azteca will thrill millions with creativity, intelligence and work," said Mr. Salinas Sada. "We will continue strengthening one of the largest producers of content in the world; renewing ourselves constantly, with very up-to-date formats."

Mr. Salinas Sada has been a member of the Executive Committee of Strategy of Grupo Salinas for the past five years, and has a degree in Financial Management from the Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey.

He replaces Mario San Roman, who was CEO of TV Azteca since 2004 and who now will be Vice-Chairman of the Board, with the responsibility of executing strategic projects and advising the CEO of the company.

In a competitive environment, with major technological developments and innovative content, TV Azteca is determined to face challenges with an appointment that combines leadership, experience and creativity to further strengthen its market position and the results of the company.

Company Profile

TV Azteca is one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world, operating two national television networks in Mexico, El trece and Azteca 7, through more than 300 owned and operated stations across the country. TV Azteca affiliates include Azteca US, a broadcast television network focused on the rapidly growing U.S. Hispanic market, and Azteca Web, an Internet company for North American Spanish speakers.

TV Azteca is a Grupo Salinas company (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, contributing to build the middle class of the countries in which they operate, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. The companies include: TV Azteca (www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. However, member companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Except for historical information, the matters discussed in this press release are forward-looking statements and are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Other risks that may affect Azteca and its subsidiaries are identified in documents sent to securities authorities.

CONTACT: Investor Relations Bruno Rangel Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 jrangelk@gruposalinas.com.mx Rolando Villarreal Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 rvillarreal@gruposalinas.com.mx Press Relations Luciano Pascoe Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mxSource:TV Azteca, SAB de CV