FSU Alumni Association Honors Outstanding “Thirty Under 30”

TALLAHASSEE, Fla., Oct. 06, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- From White House aides and Metropolitan Opera singers to medical researchers and foreign affairs officers, an exceptional group of recent Florida State University graduates will be honored when the FSU Alumni Association presents its Thirty Under 30 awards later this month.

The honorees are offering their talents to the nation and the world, currently living and working in a dozen states and the District of Columbia, as well as nations on three other continents. Six of these stand-out alumni will be singled out for even higher recognition when the Alumni Association names this year’s winners of the Reubin O’D. Askew Young Alumni Award. Those six will join an elite group of past recipients that includes two Rhodes scholars among numerous superlative alumni.

“These extraordinary individuals represent the best of Florida State University, building on the foundation of an excellent FSU education to do things that are truly special,” said Scott Atwell, FSU Alumni Association’s President/CEO. “The FSU Alumni Association is proud of the work they do and is pleased to recognize such outstanding ambassadors for our great university.”

The FSU Alumni Association's Thirty Under 30 Award was created in 2012 to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of Florida State's younger alumni. Each recipient must show exceptional achievement and significant contributions to his or her profession, community/society or the university. Each recipient exemplifies outstanding professional and personal development, through either traditional channels or innovative approaches to addressing challenges.

The members of this year’s group of 30 honorees have built on the training they received at Florida State and are now applying their expertise in a wide range of fields, such as medicine, journalism, the performing arts and public service, including government and military service. The recognized individuals now work in Florida, California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia, as well as Austria, China and Panama.

Recipients of the Reubin O'D. Askew Young Alumni Award are selected from among the Thirty Under 30. The award, named for the legendary Florida Governor and devoted FSU graduate, is the highest honor bestowed upon young alumni by the FSU Alumni Association. Only 15 individuals have previously been honored with an Askew Award since it was first presented in 2012, including Rhodes scholars in both 2013 and 2014.

To view the full list of winners, visit http://alumni.fsu.edu/honors/thirty-under-30.

The Florida State University Alumni Association’s vision is to unite the Seminole family and advance FSU's position among the nation's top public universities. To learn more about the organization, please visit alumni.fsu.edu.

CONTACT: Porsche Haynes (850) 222-1996

Source:FSU Alumni Association