×

Solid Entrepreneurial Culture is Needed for a Prosperous Mexico: Ricardo B. Salinas

The entrepreneur is the cornerstone of modernity, states Ricardo B. Salinas

“Take risks, create products and services that bring welfare and progress to society, and create jobs”

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 09, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its chairman, Ricardo B. Salinas, gave a talk at the National Week of the Entrepreneur (Semana Nacional del Emprendedor) in Mexico City to an audience of more than 1,000 people, mainly entrepreneurs that seek to expand their businesses.

At the event, Mr. Salinas said that to build a prosperous Mexico, it is necessary to foster a strong entrepreneurial culture, and that the entrepreneur is the cornerstone of modernity, economic growth and wealth generation. Take risks, create products and services that bring welfare and progress to society, and create jobs. Imagine and make ideas real that transform the world.

Currently, one cannot think of a developed nation without an entrenched entrepreneurial culture, so it is necessary to promote the development of entrepreneurs with ambition, ideas, and will to create, take risks and innovate.

It is also vital to remove obstacles to business activity, including excessive taxation, burdensome regulations, insecurity, inefficiency in the justice system and monopolies. There is a need for clearer laws to easily comply with, otherwise corruption is encouraged, which affects economic activity.

Mr. Salinas concluded that Mexico has the necessary elements to become a leading economy: land, natural resources, and above all young and entrepreneurial people willing to build and grow competitive businesses; and he called on the attendees to become great entrepreneurs.

The audience was enthusiastic about the talk, and at the end of the presentation there was an exchange of ideas and an interesting session of questions and answers.

Grupo Salinas, and its founder Ricardo B. Salinas, actively encourage the participation in forums that seek the exchange of ideas aimed at promoting the welfare and progress of societies.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade shares on the Mexican Stock Market and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas