×

Esperanza Azteca Symphonic Orchestra and Choir to Perform at Fox Theatre in Tucson, Arizona

TUCSON, Ariz., Oct. 27, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Students from Sonora’s Esperanza Azteca Symphonic Orchestra and Choir will perform on Friday, October 30th at 7:30pm at the Fox Theatre in Tucson, Arizona (17 W Congress St, Tucson, AZ 85701).

Founded in Mexico in 2009 by Ricardo B. Salinas, chairman and founder of Grupo Salinas and its Fundación Azteca, the Esperanza Azteca program has grown to include more than 80 orchestras and choirs throughout Mexico, El Salvador and –most recently– the United States. Through after school programming, Esperanza Azteca provides more than 17,000 school children ages 5 to 18 the opportunity to learn to play a musical instrument in a positive environment where they develop creative skills, resiliency, strong work ethic and determination.

The event is organized by the Instituto Cultural Mexicano de Tucson, a non-profit organization dedicated to showcasing Mexican culture in Tucson and Sonora, and the Mexican Consulate. Their goal is to enhance Tucson’s cultural and artistic diversity, but most of all promoting the Mexican culture.

A group of 160 children will perform classical pieces such as the 9th Symphony from Ludwig Van Beethoven but also traditional Mexican pieces like Bésame Mucho and Huapango.

Sonora’s Esperanza Azteca Symphonic Orchestra and Choir was created in 2012, so far they have performed in different cities around Sonora and five students were selected to be part of the National Esperanza Azteca Symphonic Orchestra, which has performed at some of the most important venues in Mexico City.

In addition to improving the living standards of thousands of families with its economic activities, Grupo Salinas adds social value by actively developing human capabilities that promote the wellbeing and progress of the communities where it operates.

About Esperanza Azteca

Esperanza Azteca is a network of youth orchestras and choirs that provide young people from low-income families a better quality of life. We seek to form better human beings through music. The project is a joint effort among local communities, local, state and federal governments, spearheaded by Fundación Azteca. The program currently features more than 80 orchestras in Mexico, El Salvador and the United States, encouraging values such as discipline, excellence and teamwork in over 17,000 talented youth. For more information, visit www.fundacionazteca.org or Twitter @EsperanzaAzteca

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas