×

Politics, Government and Women in Latin America: Better Than You Think?

WASHINGTON, Dec. 09, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Atlantic Council’s Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center launched the Women’s Leadership in Latin America Initiative with a panel about the involvement of women in politics, successes and failures integrating them and the policies in different countries.



A photo accompanying this announcement is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/fb1a6c49-28e2-471e-bf61-50a8345a3ece

The Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center was launched in October 2013. Its objective is to expand awareness of the new Latin America across diverse communities of influence by positioning the region as a core partner in the transatlantic community. Its top priority is to inform and convene non-traditional policymakers, business leaders, civil society pioneers, and media to expand the community of influencers engaged with the region.

Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton, Former Secretary of State for the United States gave the introductory remarks, followed by a conversation between Ninfa Salinas, Senator from Mexico, Muni Figueres, former Costa Rican Ambassador to the United States, Maria Isabel Nieto, Consul General of Colombia in New York and Capricia Marshall, Ambassador in Residence of the Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center, who moderated the panel.

Peter Schechter, Director of the Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center, thanked the panelists for their support, “Senator Salinas a particular word to you of appreciation, to you and to Grupo Salinas for recognizing the potential of this initiative. You’re a symbol of Mexico’s own great strides for women in leadership.”

Secretary Hillary Clinton recognized Latin America for opening new opportunities to women: “There's a lot we can learn from Latin America's success at electing women presidents. And that is just a small part of the story. But it is a region that is transforming itself.”

Senator Salinas commented on the political reform that requires gender parity, “I think the quota system just miraculously puts us there, and it helps, definitely, but I think we have to transform our system into a system that rewards capacity and results.”

Grupo Salinas is proud to support initiatives that help the empowerment of women but most of all that promote the well-being and progress of the communities where it operates.

About The Atlantic Council

The Atlantic Council promotes constructive leadership and engagement in international affairs based on the Atlantic Community's central role in meeting global challenges. The Council provides an essential forum for navigating the dramatic economic and political changes defining the twenty-first century by informing and galvanizing its uniquely influential network of global leaders. Through the papers they write, the ideas they generate, and the communities they build, the Council shapes policy choices and strategies to create a more secure and prosperous world.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.


Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas