×

Grupo Salinas Creates Significant Social Value in 2015

Limpiemos Nuestro México cleanup campaign collected 50,000 tons of garbage

with the help of 9 million volunteers—

Esperanza Azteca formed better human beings
through 82 orchestras with the participation of 16,000 underprivileged children—

El Juguetón, the world’s largest toy drive, distributed more than 16 million toys
to low-income children—

MEXICO CITY, Jan. 04, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries where they operate and founded by entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), announced today solid performance of its member companies.

In addition to generating wealth, Grupo Salinas also believes its companies are mediums for social change. Grupo Salinas companies promote higher standards of living and responsible environmental practices through products and services that support the well-being of families in Mexico, USA and Central and South America. And through Fundación Azteca, Grupo Salinas supports initiatives in favor of health, education and the environment. Programs such as La Ciudad de las Ideas, Caminos de la Libertad and Kybernus similarly promote freedom, foment innovative thought, and seek a better future.

Fundación Azteca (www.fundacionazteca.org) has placed the values of Grupo Salinas into action since 2007. In 2015, Limpiemos Nuestro México (www.limpiemosnuestromexico.org), Mexico’s largest cleanup campaign, called 9 million volunteers to action to collect and separate 50,000 tons of garbage throughout Mexico.

Meanwhile, Esperanza Azteca (www.esperanzaazteca.com), an initiative that promotes discipline, excellence and teamwork through music, integrated a network of 82 orchestras and choirs in Mexico, El Salvador and Los Angeles, benefiting more than 16,000 youth.

The Juguetón (www.azteca7.com/jugueton) —the world’s largest toy drive— in 2015, received and delivered more than 16 million toys to underprivileged children for Three Kings’ Day, the traditional gift giving holiday for children in Mexico. During 20 annual drives, more than 170 million toys have been distributed, generating joy in a growing number of families.

In 2015, there were six Movimiento Azteca (www.movimientoazteca.org) awareness and fundraising campaigns that raised more than Ps. 123 million for the Mexican Red Cross, cancer treatment, neonatal care, support to food banks, mammograms, breast feeding education and canine-feline sterilization, among many other initiatives.

Meanwhile, Plantel Azteca provided high quality middle and high school excellence to 2,100 low-income students. Also in education, the foundation supported the Escuela Nueva program in Puebla, where 20,000 students from 200 grade schools in rural communities participate in active and collaborative learning.

Grupo Salinas also strengthened the activities of its Kybernus (www.kybernus.org) program that seeks to form political and social leaders through a values-based culture. The program increased the number of participants to 1,350 future leaders, compared to 892 a year ago.

It also sponsored the Ciudad de las Ideas (www.ciudaddelasideas.com) thinkers’ festival that with the theme What´s the Point?, which brought dozens of brilliant international minds to the city of Puebla to present cutting edge ideas to thousands of attendees. Grupo Salinas further supports Caminos de la Libertad (www.caminosdelalibertad.com), a program that promotes the value of freedom through essay contests and other forums. In 2015, it presented the Una Vida por la Libertad award to American thinker and former congressman Ron Paul.

To educate consumers and foment entrepreneurism, Banco Azteca continues to support its financial education and small businesses program Aprende y Crece, which promotes informed financial decisions and encourages entrepreneurial culture.

Fomento Cultural Grupo Salinas (www.fcgs.mx) continued supporting the preservation of Mexico’s cultural heritage and artistic creation. In 2015, it sponsored Design Week Mexico, where contemporary Mexican design is promoted. Fomento Cultural also presented the following exhibitions: "Jimenez Deredia. A Genesis for Peace," and "Dreams of Immortality. Cards and Portraits of the XIX Century," as well as the Hugo Salinas Price National Silver Award.

Grupo Salinas’ companies seek to promote economic development together with environmental protection. From 2009 to date, Grupo Salinas has achieved energy savings of 367 GWh, leading to a reduction of 195,721 tons of carbon dioxide. This savings is equivalent to the energy consumed by 213,994 households for a year or the CO2 reduction of planting 978,606 trees.

Grupo Salinas has over 100 years of contributing to the welfare of the communities in which it operates and has a solid position to continue its outstanding performance in activities of an economic, social and environmental value, which will generate further progress and boost the quality of life of millions of families in 2016.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas