Resounding Success of the "Un Canto a la Musica" Concert With Cellists Yo-Yo Ma, Carlos Prieto and the Esperanza Azteca Orchestra

—World premiere of Samuel Zyman composition receives standing ovation—

Cellists Carlos Prieto and Yo-Yo Ma with Ricardo B. Salinas


Cellists Yo-Yo Ma and Carlos Prieto during the concert with the Esperanza Azteca Orchestra


Proceeds from the concert will be used to purchase additional musical instruments and strengthen the network of Esperanza Azteca orchestras

MEXICO CITY, Jan. 12, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- "Today, this wonderful group of 272 youths representing the 82 Esperanza Azteca orchestras will demonstrate that investing in music formation is an investment in human capital, and that is what makes Mexico grow,” said Ricardo B. Salinas, Chairman and Founder of Grupo Salinas, prior to the performance of cellists Yo-Yo Ma and Carlos Prieto together with the Esperanza Azteca orchestra at the Nezahualcoyotl Concert Hall in Mexico City last night.

Photos accompanying this announcement are available at

http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/13f755f9-4ec3-4e84-8f38-8a138c96df29

http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/b540da53-511e-492f-a988-74b945fa5dbb

"We will witness a dream with infinite possibilities and appreciate firsthand the effect of music; a totally transformative effect it has over those who make music and on those who listen," concluded the entrepreneur, creator and promoter of the Esperanza Azteca orchestras.

The Esperanza Azteca Orchestra opened with Wagner’s Tannhäuser Opera, followed by Yo-Yo Ma’s interpretation of Saint-Saens’s Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in A minor Op.33, which was received with standing ovations.

One of the most acclaimed pieces of the evening was "Un Canto a la Música," by the Mexican composer Samuel Zyman, for two cellos, chorus and orchestra, which premiered at this concert. Cellist Carlos Prieto joined for the Zyman piece that was commissioned by Fundación Azteca and Grupo Salinas for the concert. The audience enthusiasm led to numerous encores.

The event brought together more than 2,000 people, with the purpose of raising funds to buy musical instruments in the context of significant growth of the Esperanza Azteca network of orchestras. Also during the event, Ricardo B. Salinas presented the 2016 Esperanza Azteca Medal of Musical Merit to Maestro Arturo Márquez.

With the combined efforts of our communities, government and Fundación Azteca, in just six years Esperanza Azteca has created a network of 82 youth orchestras and choirs in Mexico, El Salvador and Los Angeles, comprising more than 16,000 low-income youths in their quest to become better human beings. The goal of the program is to reach half a million participants within 10 years.

The choir included a group of 25 youths with hearing disabilities who participated using sign language.

For additional perspectives on Esperanza Azteca, visit the blog of Ricardo Salinas at http://www.ricardosalinas.com/blog.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.com.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas