×

Grupo Salinas Companies Reiterate Sustainability Commitments

Grupo Elektra and TV Azteca are part of the Mexican Bolsa’s Sustainability Index for the third consecutive year

Grupo Salinas is dedicated to economic progress, social welfare and respect for the environment

MEXICO CITY, Feb. 03, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries where they operate and founded by entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), announced today that Grupo Elektra and TV Azteca, both listed on the Mexican Stock Exchange, will form part of the 2016 Sustainability Index. This is the third consecutive year that both companies integrate the index.

The integration this year was based on a performance evaluation by the Anahuac University of issuers listed on the Mexican Stock Exchange in the areas of corporate governance, social responsibility and the environment. Grupo Elektra and TV Azteca significantly increased results in each of these areas and considerably exceeded the national averages in the categories assessed, leading to the inclusion as part of the 30 top public companies in sustainability.

Grupo Elektra and TV Azteca have a firm commitment with long-term sustainability through: i) creation of economic value, which involves optimizing profitability to consolidate the progress of the business, and provide goods and services that drive quality of life for millions of customers; ii) generation of social value that improves the lives of employees and the community, and iii) efficient use of resources to reduce the impact of the value chain on the environment, and reduce the risk for future generations.

Grupo Salinas and its founder hold the view that material progress moves together with the welfare of communities and protection of the environment, which transforms into improved quality of life and prosperity in the long term. For additional information, visit the Sustainability Reports of Grupo Elektra and TV Azteca at www.grupoelektra.com.mx/es/sustentabilidad and www.irtvazteca.com/es/informes-de-sustentabilidad.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TP (enlacetp.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas

More From Press Releases