UPS Honors Illinois Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

CHICAGO, Feb. 24, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 100 elite drivers from Illinois are among 1,613 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Illinois boasts 456 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 12,969 years of accident-free driving. Ralph Lendi of Tinley Park is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 45 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 5,254 total UPS drivers in Illinois.

Globally, 8,703 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up more than 245,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said George Willis, president, UPS West Region. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 53 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 47 years of safe driving. Sixty-six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Illinois drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Adolfson, RichardFranklin ParkFranklin Park
Allsopp, MarkMorrisJoliet
Anderson, StevenWestern SpringsHodgkins
Balding, PerryOlneyOlney
Balluff, ThomasProspect HeightsPalatine
Barnes, JosephOak BrookWestmont
Baumgard, KentNew LenoxJoliet
Begoun, RichardGlenviewNorthbrook
Bolotnik, SandyWaukeganNorthbrook
Boniecki, BrianDarienHodgkins
Bradley, RonnieChicagoHodgkins
Branney, TimothyRockfordRockford
Brauer, JeffreyMinookaJoliet
Burns, TimothyHoffman EstatesNorthbrook
Carney, WillieHomewoodHodgkins
Chambers Jr, ClydeLansingChicago
Cobb, StanleyHomewoodHodgkins
Condon, JohnTinley ParkChicago
D'agostin, MikeRockfordRockford
Durbin, DennisDecaturDecatur
Earnest, LaceyLombardAddison
Elliott, JamesSouth BeloitRockford
Felton, GeraldRockfordAddison
Feltz, DavidElmhurstHodgkins
Fierros, MarioLakewoodPalatine
Fogel, AllenCaryPalatine
Foxworth III MatthewMattesonHodgkins
Fritz, GlennStreamwoodPalatine
Garza, RicardoBartlettPalatine
Gavard, KeithVilla ParkAddison
Geaschel, JamesRockfordRockford
Gedwill, WilliamShorewoodChicago
Gertner, ThomasNorthbrookHodgkins
Goorley, MarkGlen EllynAddison
Gow, JamesDeKalbDeKalb
Hogan, JohnChicagoAddison
Hunt, WayneHillsideHodgkins
Hunter, DouglasMetamoraPeoria
Johnson, MichaelDarienChicago
Johnson, StevenDeKalbDeKalb
Kapala, AndrewBurbankHodgkins
Karavos, TheodoreCaryPalatine
Kay, JamesCrystal LakeHodgkins
Keller, MichaelOlneyOlney
Kimmey, RobertOak LawnHodgkins
Klaczynski, RaymondTinley ParkHodgkins
Koziel, ChristopherPlainfieldFranklin Park
Kruppa, LindaDes PlainesNorthbrook
Kuchan, KevinOrland ParkHodgkins
Kunhart, DennisJusticeHodgkins
Kwak, RaymondCrestwoodBedford Park
Leible, MarkHillsboroAlton
Lewis, MichaelLake In The HillsPalatine
Little, CedricDeKalbRockford
Mangrum, ClarenceMarkhamHodgkins
Markezich, JamesHighlandAlton
Miehlke, PaulLake ZurichPalatine
Mireles Jr, AlfonsoPlainfieldBedford Park
Moran, RobertDecaturDecatur
Moreno, SergioChicagoChicago
Munoz, GeorgeMidlothianHodgkins
Obrachta, KeithIsland LakePalatine
Oconnor, WilliamChicagoFranklin Park
Oneill, JamesWooddaleChicago
Palmisano, JosephNapervilleAddison
Panagopoulos, BillOrland ParkFranklin Park
Paulson, KariLombardHodgkins
Peterson, RalphWheatonAddison
Pierce, CharlesDennisonIndianapolis
Placko, ScottCaryPalatine
Raff, WilliamGlen EllynAddison
Ramos, MartinChicagoHodgkins
Repa, RichardChicagoChicago
Runkel, CaryRoscoeRockford
Schnabel, DavidPaw PawHodgkins
Schwetz, JamesCarol StreamFranklin Park
Shanks, RandyShelbyvilleBloomington
Shaughnessy, DanielOak LawnHodgkins
Smiley, JimSouth ElginAddison
Staats, WalterDeKalbDeKalb
Stark, JamesAlsipBedford Park
Stewart, MarkBartonvillePeoria
Stogin, MichaelOrland ParkHodgkins
Swanson, DavidVilla ParkAddison
Talley, JamesPalos ParkHodgkins
Tyler Jr., EddieChicagoChicago
Uher, BryanLockportHodgkins
Uram, BradHomer GlenHodgkins
Volkert, MichaelAuroraFranklin Park
Walker Sr., CarlCalumet CityChicago
Walton, KendallPlainfieldAddison
Ward, AnthonyGlen EllynHodgkins
White, KeithMcHenryPalatine
Wiegand, PhilipQuincyPalmyra
Wilken, StevePalatinePalatine
Wnek, JosephOrland ParkHodgkins
Wohlwend, JohnLeroyDecatur
Wrobel, RobertLombardAddison
Zalnerunas, PaulAddisonAddison
Zupancic, PaulMarseillesJoliet

Contact: UPS Public Relations

Source: UPS