UPS Honors Indiana Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

INDIANAPOLIS, Feb. 24, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 35 elite drivers from Indiana are among 1,613 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Indiana boasts 232 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 6,614 years of accident-free driving. Charles Roach of Frankton is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 46 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 2,430 total UPS drivers in Indiana.

Globally, 8,703 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up more than 245,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Lou Rivieccio, president, UPS Ohio Valley District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 53 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 47 years of safe driving. Sixty-six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Indiana drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

DriverHometownUPS Work Location
Allen, PatrickIndianapolisIndianapolis
Arney, RodneyVersaillesIndianapolis
Bence, DonaldHighlandChicago
Bergman, LarryWest LafayetteLafayette
Bush, DwightMuncieMuncie
Collins, MichaelNew AlbanyAshbottom
Collins, TimothyIndianapolisIndianapolis
Cruse, CalvinMerrillvilleHammond
Diekhoff, KellenEvansvilleIndianapolis
Fields, RandallLebanonIndianapolis
Gerth, ScottCorydonBluegrass
Gibson, RobertEvansvilleEvansville
Guthrie, RalphHenryvilleClarksville
Hawkins, JohnBloomingtonBloomington
Hornsby, MichaelAuroraSharonville
Inman, ToddSolsberryBloomington
Kauchak, RobertGriffithHammond
Kidwell, JeffreyGreenwoodIndianapolis
Kiraly, JamesCedar LakeHammond
Lawson, TimothyMuncieMuncie
Matteson, DanielElkhartElkhart
Miller, JohnGreenwoodIndianapolis
Miller, TimothyAlexandriaAnderson
Phillips, DavidAndersonCastleton
Rhoades, JackKendallvilleWaterloo
Schwitters, E JamesLowellHammond
Senger, JackMillersburgElkhart
Shields, StevenIndianapolisIndianapolis
Shoffner, NealDanvilleIndianapolis
Tolbert, JohnNew AlbanyClarksville
Tri, KevinMooresvilleIndianapolis
Trimborn, BryanEvansvilleEvansville
Walden, LeslieOtterbeinIndianapolis
Wise, PatrickFort WayneFort Wayne
Zaepfel, WilliamIndianapolisIndianapolis

Contact: UPS Public Relations

Source: UPS