UPS Honors Kansas Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

WICHITA, Kan., Feb. 24, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 22 elite drivers from Kansas are among 1,613 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Kansas boasts 149 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 4,305 years of accident-free driving. Ralph Brown of Erie is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 38 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,741 total UPS drivers in Kansas.

Globally, 8,703 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up more than 245,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Kim Wyant, president, UPS Central Plains District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 53 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 47 years of safe driving. Sixty-six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Kansas drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

DriverHometownUPS Work Location
Adams, MichaelLenexaLenexa
Aldrich, BruceOlatheLenexa
Allington, ClaytonTopekaSalina
Alvey Jr., LloydKansas CityKansas City
Brockman, MichaelOverland ParkLenexa
Gray, StewartChanuteParsons
Haase, ErnieMcLouthLenexa
Housman, DavidCimarronDodge City
Jennings, DanielColbyColby
Klaus, JayOverland ParkLenexa
Kutz, KennethPittsburgPittsburg
Lincicome, MarkClearwaterWichita
Mader, GregoryGarden CityGarden City
Melton Jr., MarvinEudoraLenexa
Myrick, MichaelTopekaTopeka
Peterson, ThomasColumbusPittsburg
Poe, RenzieWamegoManhattan
Schuetz, GaryPaxicoManhattan
Steinle, RobertLawrenceLawrence
Weigel, TerryHaysHays
Wilson, BruceNew CambriaSalina
Woods, ChadGarden CityGarden City

Contact: UPS Public Relations

Source: UPS