UPS Honors Mississippi Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

JACKSON, Miss., Feb. 24, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 20 elite drivers from Mississippi are among 1,613 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Mississippi boasts 110 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 3,155 years of accident-free driving. Merriel Torrey of Utica is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 43 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 884 total UPS drivers in Mississippi.

Globally, 8,703 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up more than 245,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Kenneth Harms, president, UPS Mid South District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 53 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 47 years of safe driving. Sixty-six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following table lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Mississippi drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

DriverHometownUPS Work Location
Burlison, RonaldOlive BranchOakhaven
Clark, LurethaDurantKosciusko
Felder, RobertJacksonJackson
Forbes, RobertMadisonJackson
Goodwin, DeborahGreenwoodGreenwood
Holt, DonaldNesbitOakhaven
Jenkins, HenryPearlJackson
Kloske, MichaelPetalHattiesburg
McDonald, BarrySouthavenOakhaven
McElwain, MichaelKosciuskoKosciusko
Nowell, PatrickBiloxiJackson
Orey, AlfonsoTerryJackson
Patterson, ThomasBrandonJackson
Russell, HaroldJacksonJackson
Templeton, ArthurKosciuskoJackson
Thames, FredrickMound BayouGreenville
Vinson, StevenSouthavenOakhaven
Walker, KennethNesbitOakhaven
Wilson, DavidClintonVicksburg
Wooldridge, KennyTupeloTupelo

Contact: UPS Public Relations

Source: UPS