Directors From AIG, Citigroup, Cummins, Family Dollar Stores, and Parker Hannifin Become NACD Fellows in Q4 2015

WASHINGTON, March 02, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) today announced the names of 104 corporate directors who earned NACD Fellowship™—The Gold Standard Director Credential—during the fourth quarter of 2015. These directors serve on the boards of such companies as AIG Investments, Angie's List Inc., Cardtronics Inc., Citigroup Global Wealth Management, Cubic Corp., Cummins Inc., Delta Dental, Denny's Corp., Dover Corp., E*Trade Financial Corp., Family Dollar Stores Inc., NorthWestern Corp., Parker Hannifin Corp., SunPower Corp., WPX Energy Inc., Yamana Gold Inc., and on the boards of other Fortune 100, nonprofit, and private companies.

NACD Fellowship is a comprehensive and continuous program of study that empowers directors with the latest insights, intelligence, and leading boardroom practices. NACD Fellows, who earn and maintain this distinguished director credential, stand within the highest echelon of those committed to excellence in the boardroom and are recognized by investors, regulators, and peers as gold standard directors.

“The focus on directors’ credentials will only become more intense as the efforts to improve corporate governance continue,” said Jim Brady, former director of Constellation Energy Group Inc., McCormick & Co. Inc., and T. Rowe Price Group Inc. “NACD Fellow status is a differentiating factor that governance constituencies highly value.”

Anne Sheehan, director of corporate governance at CalSTRS, concurred from an investor’s standpoint: “America needs well-rounded directors who are sensitive to public company shareowners, and who can clearly demonstrate their value on proxy disclosures. I always look forward to meeting NACD Fellows.”

The NACD Fellowship community is backed by more than 35 years of authoritative research and represents the combined knowledge capital of hundreds of the world’s largest and most-diverse companies.

"Directors who choose to enhance their skills and acumen by becoming NACD Fellows demonstrate to company management, shareholders, and their peers a desire to perform their fiduciary duties to the best of their abilities," said Ken Daly, CEO of NACD. "I am pleased to recognize these distinguished leaders, who are dedicated to upholding the highest standards of governance."

The new cadre of NACD Fellows includes 33 Board Leadership Fellows and 71 Governance Fellows, whose boards span a wide range of industries: agriculture, banking, computer software, energy and utilities, engineering, fast casual restaurants, financial services, healthcare, higher education, information technology, insurance, manufacturing, pharmaceuticals, retail, transportation, telecommunications, and more.

Individuals Named NACD Board Leadership Fellows, Q4 2015
Daniel Abdun-NabiWillard EvansJohn Popolizio
Peter AgarwalJames FoyB. Clyde Preslar
William AlbrechtFrank GattiMark Refowitz
Michelle ApplebaumDenis GiornoJohn Rood
Jack BlumenthalHeidi JimmersonRobin Sterneck
Sanford BrownE. Weldon JohnsonMichael Tully
James CaseyRonald KaiserDonald Washkewicz
Janice ChaffinRobert KueppersTodd Weintraub
Luis Clavell-RodriguezEdward MilliganChristopher Wightman
Gregg DedrickJ. Scott NixonMary Winston
Carolyn EgbertDaniel NolanDavid Wise

Individuals Named NACD Governance Fellows, Q4 2015
David BaaschRobert HerdmanWilliam Putnam
Mark BachmannLuis HernandezAnlee Rola
Steve BairdJan HorsfallJane Sadowsky
Donald BakerNancy HostetlerPhillip Santucci
Barbara BentrupScott JesseeDonald Schneider
Chris BrewsterScott JonesJulie Schultz
Den BrownJeffrey JonesSteven Shane
William CaseyJames KelleyJohn Stanoch
Cheryl CravensPeter KindCharles Stich
David DayBill KohnDaniel Thayer
Jean De LucaMelissa KrasnowJohn Thomas
Jason DittbernerEmily LarkinSusan Thronson
Greg DonacaJanice LeesSusan Tolson
Doug DuncanCynthia MaresThomas Triscari
Jennifer ElliottMahlon MarisMary Twinem
Bethany EvansAlvin MatthewsDonald Washkewicz
Alessia FalsaroneChuck NasonDavid Weaving
Wanda FeltonTim O'KeefeCandace Wiest
Dale GibsonSteven OlsonChristopher Wightman
Jacalyn GoforthSali OsmanBruce Williams
Julia GrantRonald ParkerDennis Wilson
Phillip HarringtonTimothy PireRodney Young
Dennis HaslamRichard PontinRafael Zahralddin-Aravena
Peter HayesBarrye Price

For more information about NACD Fellowship, visit or contact Meghan Metzbower at or 202-803-6764.

About NACD

The National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) helps more than 17,000 directors to lead with confidence. As the recognized authority on leading boardroom practices, NACD aspires to a world where businesses are sustainable, profitable, and respected, and where stakeholders trust directors to develop strategies that create long-term value and provide effective oversight. World-class boards join NACD to elevate performance, gain foresight, and instill confidence. Fostering collaboration among directors, investors, and governance stakeholders, NACD has been shaping the future of board leadership for more than 35 years. To learn more about NACD, visit To become an NACD member, please contact Steve Kalan at or 202-572-2089. If you are already a member, contact your Concierge at to ensure that you are receiving the best value from your membership.

Media Contact: Chief Marketing Officer Henry Stoever 202-775-0509

Source:National Association of Corporate Directors