National credit union awards recognize leadership, innovation and sustainability excellence

SASKATOON, May 5, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The national association for Canada's credit unions, the Canadian Credit Union Association (CCUA), is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 National Credit Union Awards Program. The awards program recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments and contributions of credit unions and credit union leaders, for their positive impact on the communities in which they live and work.

Seven awards, in five different categories including Hall of Fame, Community Economic Development, Innovation, Social Responsibility and Leadership, were presented at a gala event during the Association's annual National Conference for Canada's Credit Unions in Saskatoon, SK this week.

Listed below is a highlight of all of this year's award winners. For more detailed information about each category and award recipient, visit

Hall of Fame

This year's Hall of Fame Award winners were formally recognized for their years of leadership and for their positive influence in the Canadian credit union system. They included: Sean Jackson (presented posthumously), Gordon Lightfoot, and David MacLean (presented posthumously).

National Credit Union Innovation Award

The 2016 recipient of the National Credit Union Innovation Award is First West Credit Union, for their new and innovative wearable payment technology, Dashband™.

National Credit Union Community Economic Development Award

For their dedication to economic equity, and generous sense of community, Assiniboine Credit Union is the recipient of the 2016 National Credit Union Community Economic Development Award for the development of their North End Branch, which helps empower community members to meet their own financial service needs.

National Credit Union Social Responsibility Award

For their continuing commitment to making community responsibility and sustainability a core part of their business, Mennonite Savings and Credit Union is the recipient of the 2016 National Credit Union Social Responsibility Award for their Socially Responsible Investment GICs.

National Young Leaders

In addition to our long-standing Hall of Fame Award recipients, five young credit union leaders were recognized as National Young Leaders to mark their exceptional efforts:

*Amie Warkenton also received the National Young Leaders Award, which provides a $10,000 scholarship to cover tuition and travel costs to attend a leadership development program at a university in Canada.


"Credit unions have been known for leadership and innovation throughout their history. This year was no different, as we recognize the people, new products and services that address the needs of today's members. This includes innovations in payments technology, new socially responsible and sustainable products and service offerings, and new approaches to leadership by our up-and-coming leaders in the credit union industry. This annual awards program is a great way for us to recognize these changes, and share with community members the positive impact credit unions are having across the country." Martha Durdin, president and CEO, Canadian Credit Union Association.

About Canadian Credit Union Association (CCUA)

The Canadian Credit Union Association is a national credit union industry association and the leading advocate for a successful, competitive and growing credit union industry that is distinct in its commitment to co-operative values and favoured by Canadians as their primary provider of financial services. The CCUA is the first, national credit union governed organization in Canada, representing Canada's credit unions, caisses populaires (outside of Quebec) and five regional Centrals. There are 315 credit unions and caisses populaires with more than $188.3 billion in assets, serving over 5.57 million members, outside of Quebec. For more information, visit

CONTACT: Janet Gibson Eichner Senior Manager, National Media & Communications Tel: (416) 232-3458

Source:Canadian Credit Union Association