×

Entrepreneurs are the Cornerstone of Economic Growth and Prosperity: Ricardo B. Salinas

—Grupo Salinas has a firm commitment to the creation of economic, social and environment value—

—Outstanding participation of Mr. Salinas before authorities, businessmen, ONGs and academics of Sonora—

—Sonora Governor Pavlovich recognized the social commitment of Grupo Salinas and called to unite efforts to solve problems—

MEXICO CITY, May 17, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries where they operate, announced today that its founder, Ricardo B. Salinas, presented his ideas about the importance of entrepreneurs and his social commitment in various forums in the state of Sonora before more than 600 attendees, among them, state authorities —including Sonora Governor Claudia Pavlovich— civil society and entrepreneurs, as well as students and faculty of the University of Sonora.

Mr. Salinas emphasized the importance of promoting entrepreneurship to create prosperity, because entrepreneurs take risks and invest in productive projects that translate into goods and services that drive progress and the standard of living of families. He added that entrepreneurs committed to the future add social value through positive links with communities, generating green value by contributing to the care for the environment.

Grupo Salinas brings prosperity to the communities in which it operates through market innovation, as well as goods and services that promote the wellbeing of families at the base of the socio-economic pyramid. The group also builds community capacity to improve living conditions and mitigates the environmental impact of its operations.

He added that Grupo Salinas builds alliances with government and civil society to solve increasingly complex problems facing communities, and boost economic growth and progress.

He said that, given the significant value generated by entrepreneurs, no economy can succeed without a strong entrepreneurial base, so it is vital to promote those who develop businesses, in the context of economic freedom, to access a brighter future.

Also, Governor Claudia Pavlovich, after recognizing the social commitment of Grupo Salinas companies, agreed on the need to bring together civil society, government and socially responsible entrepreneurs to solve problems.

Grupo Salinas and its founder Ricardo B. Salinas are committed to the development of the communities where they operate, and seek to promote the inclusive progress of society by promoting entrepreneurship, freedom, education and leadership values.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.elektra.com, www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TP (enlacetp.mx). TV Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade their shares in the Sustainability Index of the Mexican Stock Exchange. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas