Everett, WA, June 23, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- MEDIA ALERT
The Port of Everett’s iconic Weyerhaeuser Building, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is set to make its third move on July 13/14 – the first by land instead of water. The building will be moved from its current location in the Port of Everett’s South Marina to the new Boxcar Park in the Central Marina at the water’s edge.
This relocation is a major element of the Port’s $330 million, new mixed-use Waterfront Place Central development. When fully realized, the Waterfront Place Development is expected to support 2,075 family-wage jobs. The project’s private development will generate $8.6 million annually in state and local sales taxes.
The Port Commission awarded a nearly $1.1 million contract to the Everett-based Nickel Brothers to relocate the historic building. Nickel Bros is the largest house moving company in the Pacific Northwest, having moved nearly 300 historic buildings in the U.S. and Canada.
The building weighs approximately 350-tons, most of which is the concrete safe, and the move will take about 4 hours to move just one mile. In preparation of the July move, the building is currently being lifted 7.5 feet in the air using a unified jacking system, with 42 jacks.
The historic Weyerhaeuser Office Building’s ornate Gothic-style structure was erected in 1923 at the company’s first Everett plant. Architect Carl Gould was commissioned by the Weyerhaeuser Company to design a 6,000 square foot, one-and-a-half story building that would showcase local wood species such as fir, cedar and hemlock.
July 13: 10 a.m.: Press conference, kick-off event, and the start of shifting the building from its foundation into position to move. Please arrive around 9:30 a.m. to set up.
July 14 (early morning): 12:01 a.m. Building move begins
4 a.m. (approximate): Building arrives at its Boxcar Park destination
1710 W. Marine View Drive, Everett, WA
Those wishing to stay on-site to observe/cover the move can find hotel accommodations on-site at the Port Gardner Inn by calling (425) 252-6779.
Video footage of the building is currently available on the Port of Everett’s YouTube channel. A Video News Release will be available at noon on July 14. For more information visit www.portofeverett.com/historyonthemove
Lisa Lefeber Chief of Policy & Communications email@example.com 425.388.0617
Source:Port of Everett