×

Trade Is What Brings People Together: Ricardo B. Salinas

Protectionism can benefit a reduced group of people, but affects the vast majority with reduced access to better goods and services

Talk presented at the panel “Stronger than a wall? The US relationship with Mexico” at the Aspen Institute

ASPEN, Colo., June 28, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced today that its founder, Ricardo B. Salinas, presented ideas about international trade and politics at the panel “Stronger than a wall? The US relationship with Mexico”, at the Aspen Institute Ideas Festival.

Accompanied by Elliot Gerson, Executive Vice President of the Aspen Institute - organization that develops activities dedicated to leadership, education and public policy- Pamela Starr, Director of the U.S.–Mexico Network, and James Steinberg, Dean of the Maxwell School at Syracuse University, Mr. Salinas commented that trade provides societies with better goods and services, and in the process brings people together. On the contrary, protectionism can benefit the interests of a small group, but affects the vast majority with reduced access to higher quality goods and services at competitive prices.

Panel members said Mexico has become the U.S. second largest export partner within a vibrant trade activity, and both, Mexico and the U.S. make massive productive investments in the neighbor’s economy. Half of the value of exports from Mexico to the rest of the world is produced in the U.S. which means supply chains are highly integrated, firmly improving global competitiveness, and creating millions of jobs on both sides of the border.

Mr. Salinas commented there are still pending issues in the bilateral relationship, as the war on drugs that has increased crime in Mexico without solving the consumption problem. He added that substance abuse should be treated as a health problem and not as a criminal offense, which would release resources to have a more efficient justice, focusing of the problems that matter the most to societies.

Ricardo Salinas actively participates in forums that promote the exchange of ideas to generate further development for the economies and well-being and progress in the communities.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating economic value, through market innovation and goods and services that improve its customer’s standards of living; social value, to create social capabilities to improve the communities’ conditions; and environmental value, by reducing the negative impact related to its business activities. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.azteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TPE (www.enlacetpe.mx). Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade shares on the Mexican Stock Market and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source:Grupo Salinas

More From Press Releases