WASHINGTON, Sept. 26, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Lilly Marks, vice President for health affairs for the University of Colorado and Anschutz Medical Campus, was named chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC) at its annual meeting held September 21-23 in San Diego. Ms. Marks is a well-known national expert regarding academic health center finances, healthcare delivery, clinical practice management, and leadership issues in academic medicine.

"Ms. Marks is an outstanding academic health center leader recognized for her thoughtful business acumen, facilitative methodologies, and acute insights," noted Dr. Steven A. Wartman, AAHC president and CEO. "As a member of the board of directors, she has contributed greatly to AAHC's direction with her strategic perspective. It is with great pleasure and enthusiasm that I welcome her in her role as chair of the AAHC Board as we move forward to address the challenges and opportunities facing academic health centers."

Prior to her current position, Ms. Marks spent two decades at the University of Colorado Denver as both Senior Associate Dean for Finance and Administration at the School of Medicine and as Executive Director of University Physicians, Inc., the 501(c)(3) faculty practice plan. Ms. Marks serves on numerous boards, including the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City.

Howard J. Federoff, MD, PhD, Vice Chancellor, UCI Health Affairs and CEO, UCI Health Systems at the University of California, Irvine, was elected to the position of chair-elect of the AAHC board. Dr. Federoff is well-established in his work in internal medicine, endocrinology, and metabolism, and is nationally renowned for his clinical and research work in neurodegenerative disorders, such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's.

Newly elected to the board for three-year terms are: Robert A. Barish, MD, MBA, vice chancellor for health affairs, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System; and Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD, president and dean, Morehouse School of Medicine. Elected for two-year terms are Robert N. Golden, MD, dean, UW School of Medicine and Public Health, vice chancellor for medical affairs, University of Wisconsin, Madison; and Sam Hawgood, MBBS, chancellor, University of California, San Francisco.

AAHC is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the nation's health and well-being through the vigorous leadership of academic health centers.

CONTACT: Elizabeth Bishop Gemoets 202-265-9600

Source:Association of Academic Health Centers