SECU Members Sponsor Awards Ceremony Honoring State Government Employees

RALEIGH, N.C., Sept. 28, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- For their outstanding dedication and commitment to the State and citizens of North Carolina, sixteen State Government employees were honored on Tuesday with the 2016 Governor’s Awards for Excellence. The Awards were presented at a recognition event hosted by the Office of State Human Resources and sponsored by the member-funded State Employees’ Credit Union (SECU) Foundation. This year, 118 deserving staff members were nominated by their peers for the accolade – the highest privilege a State employee may receive. SECU Foundation Board Chair Jim Johnson was on hand to welcome the sixteen award recipients and guests to the ceremony.

Sixteen NC State Government employees - winners of the 2016 Governor's Awards for Excellence

A photo accompanying this announcement is available at

Johnson remarked, “The Governor’s Awards for Excellence are designed to pay tribute to the outstanding service and actions of State Government employees whose contributions are invaluable to North Carolina and its citizens. On behalf of all Credit Union members, SECU Foundation is proud to sponsor the awards ceremony and we offer our sincere congratulations to these dedicated public servants.”

“I am so proud to recognize these State employees for their exceptional efforts. They’ve added to the effectiveness, efficiency and responsiveness of State Government and contributed to their communities,” said Governor McCrory. “They’ve improved the way routine tasks are performed, provided better service, and saved the State and taxpayers money. Some of the honorees even saved lives.”

Recipients of the 2016 Governor’s Awards for Excellence were presented an Award in one of the following categories: Customer Service, Efficiency and Innovation, Human Relations, Outstanding State Government Service, Public Service, and Safety and Heroism. Honorees include the following individuals and teams:

Customer ServiceDr. Angela Black Smith (Department of Health & Human Services), Robert Walker (University of North Carolina-Greensboro); Efficiency & InnovationTerry Kuhn (Department of Natural & Cultural Resources), Liani Yirka (Department of Natural & Cultural Resources); Human Relations – Team of David Descourouez, Isaac Hannah and Teresa Beasley (Department of Wildlife Resources Commission), Glen Webb (Department of Public Safety); Outstanding State Government ServiceLebra Nance (University of North Carolina-Charlotte), Colonel Edward Timmons (Retired Army, Department of Public Safety); Public ServiceTaWanna Archia (University of North Carolina-School of the Arts), William Hemphill, (Department of Public Safety); Safety and Heroism – Jonathan Gouge (Department of Public Safety), Thomas Mozingo (Department of Transportation), Lindsay Recchie (North Carolina State University), George Revels (Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services).

About SECU and the SECU Foundation
A not-for-profit financial cooperative owned by its members, SECU has been providing employees of the State of North Carolina and their families with consumer financial services for 79 years. The Credit Union also offers a diversified line of financial advisory services including retirement and education planning, tax preparation, insurance, trust and estate planning services, and investments through its partners and affiliated entities. SECU serves over 2 million members through 256 branch offices, nearly 1,100 ATMs, 24/7 Member Services via phone and a website, The SECU Foundation, a 501c (3) charitable organization funded solely by the contributions of SECU members, promotes local community development in North Carolina primarily through high impact projects in the areas of housing, education, healthcare and human services.

Contact: Jama Dagenhart, Executive Director Office: 919-839-5562 |

Source:State Employees' Credit Union(SECU)